Can you use AE with FCP? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Digital Compositing and Effects
After Effects, Shake and everything else.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 26th, 2007, 11:50 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 75
Can you use AE with FCP?

is it possible to export my AE (CS3 version) graphics work (lower thirds, muzzle flashes, blood squirts, etc) with a transparent background into FCP over my video footage? if so then what is the exporting process?
James Carver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2007, 02:30 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Marin & Davis, CA, USA
Posts: 418
Just export the clip with an alpha channel. Go into the output settings, then video, and choose "RGB+alpha", etc.
Bring the clip into FCP, and it should just work.
Daniel Ross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2007, 11:19 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 75
hi daniel that's what i did and when i bring it into FCP it has a black background.

what am i doing wrong?
James Carver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2007, 01:31 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Moore, Oklahoma
Posts: 408
i dunno if FC shows the alpha channel like AE, have you tried dropping something behind just to be sure?
Alex Sprinkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2007, 02:00 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 75
i'm not sure. i'll tell you exactly what i did though.

i made my edits to a 30 second commercial in FCP. Saved that project and exported it to a quicktime file.

then i imported the quicktime file into AE and created some text effects and a coupla graphics. then i turned off the layer with the video before exporting it out of AE again and just selected rgb+alpha channel.

then i imported the AE graphics/quicktime file and placed it above the original project in FCP and i am not able to see anything execpt my graphics from AE. it doesn't overlay on top of my video footage inside FCP.

i was thinking my AE graphics/text effects would line up and you would be able to see everything (video in FCP that's on the layer under it) in the background??? kinda like when you work with FCP & motion graphics.
James Carver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2007, 10:05 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: grand rapids michigan usa
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Carver View Post
i'm not sure. i'll tell you exactly what i did though.

i made my edits to a 30 second commercial in FCP. Saved that project and exported it to a quicktime file.

then i imported the quicktime file into AE and created some text effects and a coupla graphics. then i turned off the layer with the video before exporting it out of AE again and just selected rgb+alpha channel.

then i imported the AE graphics/quicktime file and placed it above the original project in FCP and i am not able to see anything execpt my graphics from AE. it doesn't overlay on top of my video footage inside FCP.

i was thinking my AE graphics/text effects would line up and you would be able to see everything (video in FCP that's on the layer under it) in the background??? kinda like when you work with FCP & motion graphics.
Change the composite transfer mode of your AE layer to screen?
__________________
www.mattjohnstonrally.com
Matthew Johnston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2007, 08:47 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Welland ON
Posts: 515
When you export from AE try using the animation codec and then "millions of colors+" make sure you get the + as it represents the alpha channel, it works for me when I do it that way.
__________________
"We've done the impossible, and that makes us mighty."
Nate Schmidt is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:13 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network