AE doesn't work with QT 7.4 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Digital Compositing and Effects
After Effects, Shake and everything else.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 22nd, 2008, 09:20 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 789
AE doesn't work with QT 7.4

The DRM in QT 7.4 keeps you from rendering.

http://www.hdforindies.com/

What a freakin mess!!!!!
__________________
David Parks: DP/Editor: Jacobs Aerospace at NASA Johnson Space Center
https://www.youtube.com/user/JacobsESCG
David Parks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2008, 09:59 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,116
Yes, Apple has really done it this time. They are failing to realize that QT serves the needs of both the consumers and the professionals. They QAed the DRM so that it could be released for MacWorld and "missed" the problems for the Pro Apps.
__________________
Paolo http://www.paolociccone.com
Demo Reel
Paolo Ciccone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2008, 02:41 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Victoria BC
Posts: 400
Brillant...

Yes, there needs to be a dual-tiered QuickTime release (and development). NEEDS. Luckily I'm locked in at 6-month old software as I'm still doing a project - *never* upgrade while mid-project.. this was a major reminder (and luckily not a lesson!)

QuickTime Pro should mean what it says. Heck, we all paid for it.
__________________
Mac + Canon HV20
Robert Ducon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2008, 03:41 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Victoria BC
Posts: 400
FX Guide did a story too

FX Guide went up and wrote a story too. This is issue is actually receiving the attention it needs - good! Now Apple can pony up, apologize, and then create a better solution to the pro's needs. Please.

http://www.fxguide.com/article462.html
__________________
Mac + Canon HV20
Robert Ducon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2008, 04:43 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 114
re

I just installed it too!

Thanks for the heads up!
Kyle Kauss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2008, 07:01 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Victoria BC
Posts: 400
Update is here...

Apple's got an update to fix the problem out - I'd still be wary and wait a month or so before moving up to these new versions.

http://www.apple.com/quicktime/download/
__________________
Mac + Canon HV20
Robert Ducon is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:39 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network