Few people makes a crowd at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Digital Compositing and Effects
After Effects, Shake and everything else.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 3rd, 2008, 05:58 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 21
Few people makes a crowd

Hey everyone, i'm a new starting film maker and i have Final Cut Studio 2 and a HDR-FX7. I'm making a small film for my schools film festival and it has a small battle sequence in it. i have pretty much no budget so i'm trying to create the few people makes a crowd effect. I have my location which is a field that has dark dirt, i'm not exactly sure what i'm doing , but i would like to create something like the guys did in this short film: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WRS9cpOMYv0

Do i need to color key the image for the dirt and just keep the people, or chroma key, idk. After i do, i don't know how to get the actors by themselves after i separate the characters.

any help is appreciated

Thanks,

-D

Last edited by Derek Morrison; March 3rd, 2008 at 10:13 PM.
Derek Morrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2008, 01:33 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Moore, Oklahoma
Posts: 408
"get the actors by themselves"? i'm not fully following...

I love that video, btw ... it blows my mind!
__________________
What if hand guns were really hand guns?
Alex Sprinkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2008, 07:45 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 21
you know how on a green screen you can remove the background using a key and add any background that you want, i was wondering if thats what i need to do here where i remove the background on all but one of the different positions and use the one i didn't to create the background. and add them all together like they did in the video to create a sort of army.
Derek Morrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2008, 08:33 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 579
it depends on the shot you want to do.
notice how they didn't move the camera on the wide shot of the beach with all the soldiers.
that is because it is a lot easier to composite things which have the exact same background.
you just choose an overlay method in your compositing program. whatever that may be - aftereffects would be ideal.
or you can use a series of loose masks.
Ger Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2008, 09:31 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 21
thats what I wanted to do but is there anyway to create the composite with final cut studio 2?
Derek Morrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2008, 11:17 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Moore, Oklahoma
Posts: 408
I've never tried with FC, only AE. I know that you can change the transfer modes in FC (I believe you just right click the clip, then select "transfer mode" or "composite mode"), but I know I've seen a "4 point mask" effect, too. I've never even used that option though. Theoretically, it should work
__________________
What if hand guns were really hand guns?
Alex Sprinkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2008, 11:25 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek Morrison View Post
thats what I wanted to do but is there anyway to create the composite with final cut studio 2?
You could use Motion but last time I tried its keying was pretty bad. This is After Effects territory.
__________________
Paolo http://www.paolociccone.com
Demo Reel
Paolo Ciccone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2008, 12:00 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 579
even those transfer modes probably wont give you 100% opacity on what you are compositing.
Any time I've ever done anything like that i used masks in ae.
Ger Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2008, 12:06 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 21
I would love to use after effects but I have no budget for this thing, is there anyplace that has after effects for less than $999?
Derek Morrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2008, 12:25 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Moore, Oklahoma
Posts: 408
any shot you're a student? gradware.com has it for like $350 if you can prove your enrollment ... that's quite a knock down
__________________
What if hand guns were really hand guns?
Alex Sprinkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2008, 05:46 PM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 21
Ya i'm a sophomore at my high school. i checked the sight out great deals. will it export as a quicktime movie or do i need the adobe video software too?
Derek Morrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2008, 06:16 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 579
you can export it to just about anything with ae these days.
I would advise you to get it if you can as theres a nice learning curve to it
but its well worth it. You can take it with you all the way to Hollywood!
Ger Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2008, 01:55 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Moore, Oklahoma
Posts: 408
I agree with Ger. AE used to scare the beJesus (what do I capitalize in that word?) out of me, as it's not like any other NLE's or anything I'd worked with. It's stinkin' amazing! Start now, and stick with it. It's amazing what you can do with it (i feel i should get some sort of cut from this). At least go to adobe.com and download the 30 day trial.
__________________
What if hand guns were really hand guns?
Alex Sprinkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2008, 04:06 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 101
It also should be mandatory :-) that anyone who uses after effects, should visit this site!

www.videocopilot.net

I don't have anything to do with the site, but man, I wish I did! :-) The more people that visit, the more chance there is he'll do more free tutorials!

AE is daunting at first, but once it clicks with you, anything is possible!
Chris Coulson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2008, 03:38 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Posts: 548
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek Morrison View Post
thats what I wanted to do but is there anyway to create the composite with final cut studio 2?
You could get either Conduit or dvMattPro which are plugins for FinalCut Studio and either one is less expensive than the student price for AE:
http://www.dvgarage.com/prod/prod.php?prod=conduit2
http://www.dvgarage.com/prod/prod.php?prod=dvmattep3
__________________
Nick Jushchyshyn Matchmoving, Compositing, TD
imdb
Nick Jushchyshyn is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:21 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network