Why does after effects take so long?? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Digital Compositing and Effects
After Effects, Shake and everything else.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 11th, 2008, 04:31 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 42
Why does after effects take so long??

I'm rendering a video in AE as uncompressed AVI; the video has NO effects and there are two layers. It is 13,000 frames. Why is
it rendering at 1 FPS?? It's really frustrating

Specs are:
Pentium 4 2.8 ghz processor
512 MB RAM.
Mel Abdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2008, 07:43 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 101
I'm no computer genius, but I can tell you for sure, that 512MB memory is pretty much the bare minimum for running xp with no programs running, never mind After Effects, which is one of the most memory intensive programs you'll ever run on windows!

Go out and get yourself at least 2gb RAM and you won't believe how fast your computer becomes!
Chris Coulson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2008, 08:23 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,116
Mel, Chris pretty much spelled it out. 2/3 of your memory is used by Windows. The remaining is used to load AE. You basically have no memory to process the clip. You will need 1GB per video application, at least, plus at least 1/5GB for the OS. If you have plugins, they will take more memory.
This is, BTW, one of the reasons why Mac have the reputation of being more expensive than PCs. They are actually cheaper but come with higher defaults so their price is higher than your typical budget PC. As Chris said, add 2GB and your rendering will be much shorter.
__________________
Paolo http://www.paolociccone.com
Demo Reel
Paolo Ciccone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2008, 09:27 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 315
The issue of not enough RAM is definitely something to think about. Before I beat the proverbial dead horse though, what's on the second layer in your comp? If you have any effects or complicated stuff going on there, that would add to your dilemma.
Shawn McCalip is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:38 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network