What software was used to do this? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Digital Compositing and Effects
After Effects, Shake and everything else.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 12th, 2008, 07:20 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 263
What software was used to do this?

http://www.animatedecovers.com/preset.html

I know the 3d images (jpg) are created in photoshop, but what software is being used to add the animation to the image?

Thanks,
T
Troy Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2008, 08:18 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 51
Looks like After Effects.

You can render 3d images in Photoshop and then import them into After Effects and add some simple animations. The layers and such applied in photoshop will be recognized by After Effects immediately, so as long as the image is in a 3D space it will have all 6 sides of the box present.

For example, the "Sneaky Jump" move looks like the original image had a Bezier Warp applied and animated to it, so that it bends left and right, and then the position was animated up and down, with another warp so the bottom bends out. All this with some drop shadow, and motion blur applied and these are the final results you can get with After Effects. The other shadows may be created by Lights that can be applied and animated in After Effects, all of which have the capability to cast shadows against any layers in their way.

If you haven't touched AE before, the aforementioned may seem like a foreign language, but if you pick up your own copy it's small talk.

Cheers!
Andrew Hoag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2008, 02:57 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Malmo Sweden
Posts: 103
for me it looks like any 3d software (3dmax, maya, or whatever), no photoshop, no After Effects here
Martin Chab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2008, 12:59 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Chab View Post
for me it looks like any 3d software (3dmax, maya, or whatever), no photoshop, no After Effects here
true, but the new vanishing point in CS3 can get some pretty wicked 3d results.
Andrew Hoag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2008, 02:33 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 263
I have AE7 and Maya, but very little experience using Maya. Are there any good demos on the net where someone is making a object bend, twist, flip, etc?
Troy Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2008, 02:33 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Chab View Post
for me it looks like any 3d software (3dmax, maya, or whatever), no photoshop, no After Effects here
Since they require you start with an Photoshop template, it looks like they use indeed PS files animated in some video animation software.
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2008, 01:48 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Suriname
Posts: 14
any 3d package could do this.
The effects or modifiers are bend, twist and squash N stretch with the squale tool.
I believe this was done in 3dsmax.
Everts Alredjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2008, 09:47 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
removed by poster, wrong forum

Last edited by Ray Bell; June 15th, 2008 at 08:32 AM.
Ray Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2008, 11:56 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Everts Alredjo View Post
any 3d package could do this.
The effects or modifiers are bend, twist and squash N stretch with the squale tool.
I believe this was done in 3dsmax.
Everts,

I have a version of Maya from 2 yrs ago. I haven't used it a lot, but wanted to know if it has similar features? My goal is to be able to create the 3d image in Photoshop as a JPEG and then add the animation in the 3D package. Is this possible in Maya or will I have to get 3dsmax?

Thanks,
Troy
Troy Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2008, 12:19 PM   #10
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 1
Hi Troy,

Have you thought about asking the people who designed the animated ecover site? You never know they might be able to help you out more than a load of people on a forum guessing?

Worth a shot, don't you think

Darren
Darren Kaye is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:34 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network