8 bit or 16 bit? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Digital Compositing and Effects
After Effects, Shake and everything else.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 23rd, 2008, 04:03 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Warwick, Rhode Island
Posts: 740
8 bit or 16 bit?

I am importing some clips from Premiere (Animation Codec MOV on Mac) and want to know if I should be setting the compositions to 8 bit or 16 bit. What's the difference? And if I worked in 8 and need to switch to 16 for better quality, do I need to start over?
__________________
Cinematography Site
Nathan Quattrini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24th, 2008, 10:20 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Malmo Sweden
Posts: 103
if you gonna make heavy color corrections is better to go to 16 bits, otherwise 8 bits is fine (im assuming that your original footage is 8 bits, like DV or HDV or so)
You can switch back and forth 8 o 16 whenever you want.
Martin Chab is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:34 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network