After Effects, Painting Rotoscope at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Digital Compositing and Effects
After Effects, Shake and everything else.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 19th, 2009, 05:45 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: bend, oregon
Posts: 32
After Effects, Painting Rotoscope

I'm trying to use paint to rotoscope an object out of a project frame by frame, but I do not want a new sub-layer every time I make a new paint stroke/path. It eventually adds up to hundreds of sub-layers.

Does anyone know how I can just go in frame by frame and use paint like I would in Photoshop, without using vector paint?

Thanks.

Using After Effects CS3
Dan Quintero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2009, 10:50 PM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Coldwater. Michigan
Posts: 6
You should be able to export what you are working on as a jpeg or png sequence, do what work you need to do, then import back into after effects. You would be working on the actual image itself, so would not need to worry about layers. Of course, depending on the length of the sequence, it might be just as much work doing it that way.
James Pierce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2009, 12:51 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 616
Are you using the vector paint effect or the paint tool... or the clone stamp tool? I only use the vector paint effect to draw a line over time, and the tools for touch up.
You could try making 1 paint stroke (duration set to constant) that covers your problem area on the first frame, and then use motion tracking so that your paint stroke automatically follows along with the camera movement.
I'm not sure what your doing, but I wouldn't worry about having a lot of sub-layers, I don't even look at them.
Aric Mannion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2009, 01:28 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: bend, oregon
Posts: 32
Thanks for the feedback. It's mainly for rig removal. I tend to work faster with the eraser tool when compared to the masking tool.

There has to be a way to keep the strokes contained within one effect layer. I've heard of people making hundreds and hundreds of stokes on one frame which resulted in AE crashing every time it was opened.
Dan Quintero is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:17 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network