After Effects Help at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Digital Compositing and Effects
After Effects, Shake and everything else.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 28th, 2004, 08:31 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 163
After Effects Help

Hey guys,

I got a question.
After doing a few layers of effects on after effects, the final output of the video quality drops.

I output the file as avi, but it seems like there is a big drop in quality. The quality is close to mpeg.

I've searched the forum , and I am using the setting as mentioned in another thread.
The settings that I use is,

Make Movie
1)Best settings
2) Full Resolution
3) All on

Anyone knows what's wrong?
Michael Chen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2004, 10:35 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
What did you pick as your codec?

AE renders superbly with any number of layers so it has to be either your source material or the setup.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2004, 01:37 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 163
The source material is pretty clean.

I've set the codec as none (uncompressed) just to try out, but the quality is pretty low.

Any idea what could be the reason?
Michael Chen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2004, 12:20 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
Michael, I don't have enough information to tell you. All I can say is that I've been using AE since version 3.1 and I have no problems whatsoever with quality no matter how many layers and how many things I do to the video.

Try rendering a single source through AE and see what happens. If it is not very good, then you do have an incorrect setting somewhere.

Just a thought, what field did you select as the First?
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2004, 02:01 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 75
I have the same problem.. with 5.5 Standard, I've posted numerous posts on the Adobe's forum, and have called Tech support a number of times, I've given up... I just use the Quick Time setting to render with the Compressor set to animation...

I can't tell the difference when it comes to rendering graphics but when it come to video I can definitely see a loss of quality.
Pat Engh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2004, 05:51 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
Well guys, there is still something wrong with your settings.

I mean, AE is used for HD compositing.

And plenty of people use it every day for serious work as do I.

Very often it is the last piece of software used to glue all the 3-D and 2-D elements together for a movie.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2004, 07:23 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 163
Dear mike,

I suspect it has to do with the field problems.

I tried setting it to off.
Also tried bottom field first if i'm not mistaken but to no avail.


Should I try out upper field first?

How do i determine the proper field setting btw?
I have output them into Microsoft DV PAL setting ,and the quality is no good.
Michael Chen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2004, 10:12 AM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
DV is always lower field first, Michael.

Why don't you post your output settings?

Another thought: You have selected the proper import items when you import the video, right? Including field order which could be different if it is not DV. Importing footage can be wildly different from exporting footage with regard to settings.

And made certain that the quality on each item in the timeline is set to max (it is the little diagonal line that you can switch from right to left)?
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2004, 04:36 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 163
The source material is dv as well.

So I suppose I need to set the import to lower field, and render to lower field as well?

I'll try it out soon and post back on the result. Thanks for the help.
Michael Chen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2004, 04:45 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
Hi,

How do you render?

Do you go to Composition -> Make Movie

In the dialog you got several options like "Render Settings" - should be "Best setting", "Output module" -> Lossless ( I usually open the output module dialog and choose "audio output" aswell.

G'luck!

// Lazze
Lars Siden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2004, 09:58 AM   #11
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
You would indeed use no compression if you are going to import the footage back into a NLE and the NLE accepts uncompressed files. Otherwise, it makes sens to render into your NLE's native file format.

Yes, Michael, you do import lower field first and export lower field first. Normally AE guesses the input setup accurately.

I set up several custom Render setups so I don't forget something when rendering.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:18 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network