Shadows on alpha channel render end up same colour as AE background at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Digital Compositing and Effects
After Effects, Shake and everything else.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 21st, 2010, 04:55 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Central Coast, NSW Australia
Posts: 119
Shadows on alpha channel render end up same colour as AE background

I am trying to create an animated drop shadow on a logo that I need to render out with an alpha channel for FCP. Problem is that the drop shadow when rendered has a yellow tinge, which is the default background colour in my AE project. How can I solve this issue? Is it as simple as changing the background colour on my AE project to black, or is it a little more complex than that?
Shaun R Walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2010, 06:09 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 114
Hi Shaun. I'm a little confused. Are you creating your drop shadow, using the standard effect Perspective/Drop Shadow on the logo layer? I presume you are rendering just the logo and shadow with an alpha background from AE, not keying it in FCP?
Gregory Gesch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2010, 11:36 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Central Coast, NSW Australia
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregory Gesch View Post
Hi Shaun. I'm a little confused. Are you creating your drop shadow, using the standard effect Perspective/Drop Shadow on the logo layer? I presume you are rendering just the logo and shadow with an alpha background from AE, not keying it in FCP?
Yes, the shadow was created using the Perspective effect and I am rendering with the alpha background and not keying in FCP
Shaun R Walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 06:23 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 114
Mmm. I can't replicate your problem but two thoughts:
Delete your background before rendering (but if it's the screen default colour then toggle the alpha switch at the bottom of your screen - the one with the grey squares on it and the background should disappear)
or
Precompose your logo layer with the drop shadow effect and render that
Might help?
Gregory Gesch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2010, 02:19 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 444
In your render you need to render the alpha as Straight, not pre multiplied. If it's pre multiplied graduation will show through, this is useful when you want graduated transparency effects in your composition, but very troublesome if you want perfectly clean effects like baseline keys etc.

If you render the alpha as straight, you should always get clean edges.
__________________
www.afterglow.co.nz
Craig Parkes is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:48 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network