After Effects (Color Finesse / Echo Fire) Trouble at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Digital Compositing and Effects
After Effects, Shake and everything else.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 30th, 2005, 11:13 AM   #1
Major Player
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 448
After Effects (Color Finesse / Echo Fire) Trouble


I am using the Adobe After effects plug-in called Color Finesse. With most all After Effects plug-ins I am able to see the changes (in real time) on my NTSC monitor that is connected via S-Video to my ADVC-100 that is connected to my PC via Firewire. However, Color Finesse will not allow for the realtime changes. Therefore, when I color correct I can't see the results on the NTSC monitor until I exit the plug-in.

I am trying a 72 hour trial version of Echo Fire (by Synthetic Aperature) the same company the makes Color Finesse. Echo Fire is suppose to solve this problem by allowing you to view after effects previews + other programs such as QuickTime on an firewire connected NTSC monitor.

Unfortunatly I can't get the Color Finesse plug-in to work with Echo Fire. Echo Fire works, but not when I'm in Color finesse. Color Finesse provides an option for a secondary monitor - however, the choices are {blank space} & {NONE}. It appears as though Color finesse may be looking for another (secondary) VGA type monitor.

Is there a way to set-up my NTSC-Via ADVC-100 with my ATI FireGL V7100 so that my PC sees it as a secondary monitor. Perhaps Color Finesse would then recognize the fire wire monitor. Or any other slution?

Tim Bickford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2006, 12:20 AM   #2
Major Player
Join Date: May 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 516
my guess as to why you can't preview to an external monitor as you color correct would probably be because color finesse is one of the few plugins i know of that makes you leave the after effects workspace into its own interface to perform the color correction. i like to preview out to a monitor as well, and i haven't found this to be too problematic as i will make the adjustment, check it in the preview monitor, and dive back in if necessary.

color finesse, by default, will use a second monitor as a preview monitor as you suggested. a solution might be to use a video card with a second dvi output, and use a television with a dvi input, like some of the sony wega crt's, as your preview monitor. i output video from my laptop with dvi out to a dvi-capable tv quite often, and i know for a fact the tv can be used as a secondary monitor if desired.

i don't know if that's much help, but it's the only thing i could come up with that might help you here.
Henry Cho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2006, 09:18 AM   #3
Inner Circle
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Centreville Va
Posts: 1,828
Most ATI cards come with a DVI to component converter for watching DVDs, maybe that would help when using a crt based preview setup?
Boycott Guinness, bring back the pint!!!
Joe Carney is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:28 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network