Shake and a Three Button Mouse? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Digital Compositing and Effects
After Effects, Shake and everything else.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 20th, 2006, 12:10 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 590
Shake and a Three Button Mouse?

Under the requirements it mentions a three button mouse. My Mac has one. I didn't even know they made a three button mouse. Does anyone know if this is necessary?
Steve Benner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2006, 12:22 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 248
It is most definitely necessary.
Warren Shultz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2006, 12:43 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 301
Yes, it is necessary. I just purchased Shake 4.1 about 4 weeks ago--thankfully at the wonderful $499 price!

I also purchased Apple's Mighty Mouse, their very cool and well designed 3-button mouse. You can learn more about it here: http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPL...lm=MA086LL%2FA
__________________
www.SayreMedia.com
Jeff Sayre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2006, 09:33 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 590
Will Shake work with the Shuttle Pro?
Steve Benner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2006, 10:40 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 301
As long as you can program the buttons to perform specific functions when pressed, then yes.

Most multi-button controllers should work.
__________________
www.SayreMedia.com
Jeff Sayre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2006, 07:42 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 595
All devices like the Shuttle Pro do is "trick" the OS into thinking that specific keyboard button sequences have been pressed. So yes, the Shuttle Pro will work with Shake - and ANY other program you have on your system. I'm not sure it would replace a 3-button mouse though, as you cannot get the Shuttle Pro to "mimic" mouse actions.
Chris Hocking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2006, 03:25 AM   #7
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 4
You can use keyboard modifiers to get around not having a multibutton mouse (eg. Control + click for the second button, Option + click for the third button),
but this starts to wear thin pretty quickly.

The Apple Mighty Mouse is certainly worth a look, and is also very useful for apps like Final Cut Pro, Photoshop & After Effects.

Cheers

Al
Alister Robbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2006, 11:48 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 301
Steve:

If you haven't purchased a 3-button mouse or the Shuttle Pro yet, Apple just announced the wireless version of its Mighty Mouse.

http://www.apple.com/mightymouse/
__________________
www.SayreMedia.com
Jeff Sayre is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:39 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network