AfterEffects 7 Crashes on Startup - Intel iMac at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Digital Compositing and Effects
After Effects, Shake and everything else.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 10th, 2006, 02:19 PM   #1
Major Player
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 327
AfterEffects 7 Crashes on Startup - Intel iMac

I have a 20" Intel iMac with 1.5GB RAM. Unlike others I have read about, the install and activation seemed to go fine. Unfortunately, each time I launch AE7, the splash screen gets to the part where it reads "Initializing User Interface", then -poof- total crash: "The Application Adobe AfterEffects has unexpectedly quit".

I've tried all the troubleshooting steps I could find: trashing/renaming the OpenGL plugin, starting in safe boot, repairing drive permissions, trashing the AE preference files, launching the app under another user account. So far, nothing has worked. Adobe is maddeningly vague about the issue. According to them, AE7 "should run" under Rosetta, albeit with a performance hit. The Adobe generic help document finally ends with a suggestion to reinstall the OS, but I'm not prepared for such a drastic step.

I've read message boards where folks claim to be running AE7 on Intel Macs. Has anyone here done it? And if so, what did you do to get it running?
Scott Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2006, 10:55 PM   #2
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 102
I had a similar problem with After Effects 6.5. It turns out it the source of the crash was a 3rd party plug-in in my Quicktime components folder. I guess the plug-in wasn't capable of running under Rosetta. Removing it from the Quicktime folder in HD --> Library -> Quicktime solved the problem. Hope this helps.
Media Kobo
Rob Moreno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2006, 08:34 AM   #3
Major Player
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 424
you could always run bootcamp and run a windows version of after effects, not that it would be a pleasant experience on windows, it would be faster, :-)
Riley Harmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2006, 01:08 PM   #4
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1

I've run into this problem and posted the fix that worked for me here.


Hope it helps,

Dale Bradshaw is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:35 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network