color correction at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Digital Compositing and Effects
After Effects, Shake and everything else.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 20th, 2006, 06:32 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 47
color correction

Just started to learn color correction by a tutorial i found on the web.
I applied Hue/sat.,Levels,Curves,Brightness,Unsharp mask.

I looks better than original..on in my comp window,but sometimes when I encode the file to MPEG2 burn it and watch on TV is either too bright or some places too dark.

I just cant really tell when the correction is right.What is your workflow??
Richard Bacevac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2006, 08:06 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Japan
Posts: 93
What software are you using? When you color correct an image and encode it to another format it may have a different color space than the image your coming from which would mean your image will look different. It is a good Idea to use a reference monitor to preview your image in the NTSC colorspace if that is your final output because computer screens show color differently and have different black levels.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad E6600(@3GHz) | Nvidia GeForce 9600 GT/1GB PCI-e x16 DVI |
8GB DDR2-SDRAM | 2 x 1TB S-ATA2/7200rpm/32MB Hard Drives | Vista Ultimate 64
Mark Duckworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2006, 08:10 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 47
Thanks.
I use After Effects for correction.Its possible to view on TV straight from AE??
Richard Bacevac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2006, 06:02 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Japan
Posts: 93
Most NLE's have the ability to do a preview out to a tv hooked up to your video card but I am not sure about AE. If you are running it as a plugin through Premiere pro you should be able to preview it but this is just speculation as I dont use PPro.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad E6600(@3GHz) | Nvidia GeForce 9600 GT/1GB PCI-e x16 DVI |
8GB DDR2-SDRAM | 2 x 1TB S-ATA2/7200rpm/32MB Hard Drives | Vista Ultimate 64
Mark Duckworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2006, 10:11 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 208
Of course, though, your video card must have tv-out... assuming it does the quick and easy way is simply to output your entire desktop to tv, and look at it that way.

In any case, the ability to preview on an external TV is a MUST for color grading.
__________________
~Justine

"We are the music makers, and we are the dreamers of dreams" -Arthur O'Shaunessey (as quoted by Willy Wonka)
Justine Haupt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 5th, 2006, 07:58 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
1- I wouldn't use the TV-out option from your video card... it may not necessarily be accurate. It may be affected by things like video card overlay settings.

2- Doesn't the latest version of AE have firewire out preview?
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 5th, 2006, 04:03 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Welland ON
Posts: 515
Yep, version 7 of AE has firewire preview jsut go to the video preview section of the preferences and change the preview from computer monitor to firewire.
__________________
"We've done the impossible, and that makes us mighty."
Nate Schmidt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 5th, 2006, 04:29 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate Schmidt
Yep, version 7 of AE has firewire preview jsut go to the video preview section of the preferences and change the preview from computer monitor to firewire.
What does this do ?

Do you need a TV monitor with an iLink/firewire connection ??
Lee Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 5th, 2006, 04:44 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Welland ON
Posts: 515
Use your camera to act as a "firewire to tv converter" the video comes out of AE through firewire to a deck or camera in VTR mode and plays on the lcd display of the camera, then from the camera use composite or s-video (if possible) to go from the camera to the tv. That way you see your AE comps as they would look on a tv.
__________________
"We've done the impossible, and that makes us mighty."
Nate Schmidt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 5th, 2006, 06:34 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate Schmidt
Use your camera to act as a "firewire to tv converter" the video comes out of AE through firewire to a deck or camera in VTR mode and plays on the lcd display of the camera, then from the camera use composite or s-video (if possible) to go from the camera to the tv. That way you see your AE comps as they would look on a tv.

Thanks !!!!!
Lee Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 5th, 2006, 06:40 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Welland ON
Posts: 515
No problem Lee
__________________
"We've done the impossible, and that makes us mighty."
Nate Schmidt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2006, 12:14 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 255
I heard composite video is better than S video, is this right?
Dennis Khaye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2006, 12:34 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 97
another investment

Another very important investment you should make is a "spider" to calibrate your monitor. Pantone offers some cheap kits, they will help. If your TV or monitor is not calibrated properly then you will be color correcting blind, for you have no reference.

Also get the book Color Correction for Digital Video by Steve Hullfish. Great book.
Patomakarn Nitanontawat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2006, 09:53 AM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brookline, MA
Posts: 1,447
I am pretty sure this is due to differences in gamma and levels. Simply put, you need to preview through a broadcast monitor (not computer).
Emre Safak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2006, 10:23 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa Canada
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Khaye
I heard composite video is better than S video, is this right?
No, S-Video is better than Composite.

Component is better than both of them though, maybe that's what you meant.
__________________
My short films... The Interview & Calls From The Führerbunker
Mike Horrigan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:49 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network