Video Card RAM for AE at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Digital Compositing and Effects
After Effects, Shake and everything else.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 13th, 2006, 10:32 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: PR
Posts: 14
Video Card RAM for AE

So here's my question. I'm trying to decide if I should go for the Apple MacBook Pro 15.4 inch C2D with 128MB or 256MB ATI Mobility Radeon X1600? Yeah I'll get faster processor speed, more RAM, and 128MB more graphics, but for a difference of $500 is it really worth it? My main uses will be After Effects, Photoshop & Illustrator graphic design/illustration work plus Final Cut Pro, DVDSP and Motion. Does the 256MB card would give a justifiable improvement over the 128MB one? and the Difference in Procerssor Speed? Would I notice a difference with the faster one? thanks!!
Ariel Ferrer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2006, 08:18 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 424
ae7 is not osx86 compatible, when i ran it on my macbook pro, i had problems
Riley Harmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2006, 04:02 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: sydney, australia
Posts: 221
will this problem be rectified as i also am seeking to run it on my Macbook Pro?
Tyson Perkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2006, 04:21 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: sydney, australia
Posts: 221
anyone? I need to immently before i order it in the next few days.
Tyson Perkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2006, 01:20 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 424
only way you'd make full use of the opengl is to unfortunately run bootcamp and windows with the windows version of afx 7

when i ran it on my macbook pro c2d it crashed all over the place and was unstable, one of the places it was unstable...you guessed it opengl

we're up a creek for mac support until version 7.5 or 8

just run bootcamp
Riley Harmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2006, 01:37 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Posts: 52
Yeah, you will ahve to wait for Adobe Universal Binary which will come out during 2007.

Id prefer to wait till all apps are available in universal binary and then buy a new machine... If not, you will have a new machine but you wont be able to use it to its full capacity.
Matias Baridon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2006, 10:52 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 424
unless you have a pc as well with a 7900gt and screaming proc. ae7 burns on it

final cut screams on the macbook pro
Riley Harmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2006, 05:19 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: sydney, australia
Posts: 221
I have a Mac Pro as well as new quad core Intel PC - Can i cross between platforms to edit on AE in windows?
Tyson Perkins is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:24 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network