Creating a Timer in AE at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Digital Compositing and Effects
After Effects, Shake and everything else.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 30th, 2007, 02:56 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Moore, Oklahoma
Posts: 408
Creating a Timer in AE

I need a 10 minute timer in the form of minutes:seconds:milliseconds. Before going about it the LONG way (creating every frame), is there a generator or anything I can use that I'm missing?
Alex Sprinkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2007, 07:18 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
I use a program called XNote Stopwatch
I then set the colours of the backgrounds and numerics for easy chromakeyiing, I set my timer countdown and run camtasia studio. I capture the video and then reimport that (i use Vegas)
This is then overlaid on the video track, and resized with pan and crop positioning. If i want it to be pretier, u can also use an animated lower third to "frame" the timer
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2007, 12:27 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Moore, Oklahoma
Posts: 408
XNote Stopwatch? I've never heard of it... I'm running this on a mac. Compatible?
Alex Sprinkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2007, 06:46 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
not sure, u might need to check that
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2007, 11:06 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Moore, Oklahoma
Posts: 408
So the question still stands... AE timer available?
Alex Sprinkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2007, 12:46 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 67
It's not milliseconds, but you could use the timecode feature (under video effects) which generates timecode and displays it in hh:mm:ss:ff on the image. Apply it to a layer, pre-compose it, then retime the precomp layer to -100% (reversing it). Mask out the parts you don't want.

Sure, the numbers in the last area only go up to 24/25/30, but they go by quickly enough. You could even use cc force motion blur to make the frame numbers looks blurry.
Conor Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2007, 03:22 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Moore, Oklahoma
Posts: 408
good call, thanks. That's what i was looking for
Alex Sprinkle is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:31 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network