WD HD Media Player (with HDMI out etc.) - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The DV Info Network > Digital Video Industry News

Digital Video Industry News
Events, press releases, bulletins and dispatches from the DV world at large.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 11th, 2008, 04:31 PM   #16
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Shahinian View Post
Any owners know if additional codecs (Cineform) can be installed?
Other than the obvious future firmware update, I don't see a way to do this. In any case, it would have to be from WD as they use a Sigma processor in this device. There is some companion software to manage the WD TV for Windows computers.
Gints Klimanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2008, 02:17 PM   #17
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 356
Ok, it seems like this is kind of like Apple TV minus the wi fi correct? Say i get a blue ray disk, how do i go about ripping it onto my computer and converting it to full 1080p? I guess that's the same question I have for reguar DVD's. I have a DVD ripper but it only rips to a certain file type and I have to convert it to ipod format which would be very small for my TV.
Greg Harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2008, 06:51 PM   #18
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Harris View Post
Ok, it seems like this is kind of like Apple TV minus the wi fi correct? Say i get a blue ray disk, how do i go about ripping it onto my computer and converting it to full 1080p? I guess that's the same question I have for reguar DVD's. I have a DVD ripper but it only rips to a certain file type and I have to convert it to ipod format which would be very small for my TV.
While I haven't "backed up" BluRay disks, DVDDecrypter does the job for most DVDs. You would then make a folder with the name of your movie and copy the VIDEO_TS folder there. Navigate to the VOB file after the menu (usually ending in the number 1) and push play. The WD TV will play the video files in succession, though that may be due to the "Play all" files setting. I haven't been able to turn off the DVD subtitles, and the WD TV doesn't have a setting for that. WD : send us a firmware upgrade.

BluRay ripped/reencoded movies are "out there", but you'll find that most include DTS for audio. So, either you have to reencode the audio or output to a DTS receiver as the WD TV doesn't decode DTS streams. The 1080p ripped files I've tried don't work well either with VLC Media Player on my WinXP machine or on the WD TV in that there are weird decompression blocky problems. The 720p versions I've found play well.
Gints Klimanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2008, 08:58 AM   #19
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 356
So you can play VOB files on this unit? In that case I will go out and buy this thing right away!!
Greg Harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2008, 10:44 AM   #20
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
I'm using the slysoft solution for ripping DVD/Blu ray movies.... its easy, all you have
to do is put the disk into the computer, hit the right mouse key and tell the software
where you want the files to go... then the movie is ripped to the hard drive...

SlySoft AnyDVD HD
Ray Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2008, 01:11 PM   #21
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Bell View Post
I'm using the slysoft solution for ripping DVD/Blu ray movies.... its easy, all you have
to do is put the disk into the computer, hit the right mouse key and tell the software
where you want the files to go... then the movie is ripped to the hard drive...

SlySoft AnyDVD HD
I have done this already and have a movie residing om Hard Drive for play with Power DVD. Are you confirming that the WD HD Media player will play the blu-ray files directly to you TV? That would be great but sounds highly unlikely at this point.
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2008, 01:43 PM   #22
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Harris View Post
So you can play VOB files on this unit? In that case I will go out and buy this thing right away!!
Yes. Just navigate to the first VOB in the VIDEO_TS folder.
Gints Klimanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2008, 01:48 PM   #23
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Bell View Post
I'm using the slysoft solution for ripping DVD/Blu ray movies.... its easy, all you have
to do is put the disk into the computer,
And buy a BluRay drive ...
Gints Klimanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2008, 10:11 PM   #24
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
The folks at Cineform replied on one of their threads that quite apart from codec issues, these kinds of players (I have a TiVX, with built-in harddrive) are not capable of handling the high bitrate of CFHD avi. I'm sure that will be the case for DVCProHD also.
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2008, 06:19 AM   #25
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty Hudzik View Post
I have done this already and have a movie residing om Hard Drive for play with Power DVD. Are you confirming that the WD HD Media player will play the blu-ray files directly to you TV? That would be great but sounds highly unlikely at this point.
Yes, they play fine.... I used the WD HD Media player to play the Blu ray movie " Into the Blue " on my projector...., for the hard drive I used the portable WD passport (500gb)

and yes, you do need a blu ray player on your computer to rip the video... :-)
Ray Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2008, 06:25 AM   #26
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cornsay Durham UK
Posts: 1,940
Wooo Hooo my lovely wife has bought me one of these for chrimbo!
__________________
Over 15 minutes in Broadcast Film and TV production: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1044352/
Gary Nattrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2008, 03:50 PM   #27
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 356
so I've been ripping DVDs onto my computer as VOB files but can't watch them? when I click on the file to watch it, it says "This is a file that quicktime doesn't understand". I then tried to watch them using quick time and my DVD programs on my computer overrules it somehow but still doesn't play. Does anyone know what i'm doing wrong?
Greg Harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2008, 09:11 PM   #28
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Angelo Texas
Posts: 1,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gints Klimanis View Post
Thanks for the news. I ordered it from BestBuy.com for $99 on sale, but it's on backorder.

Here is an alternative, though I have no idea where to get this in the USA.

Welcome to A.L. Tech! - Multimedia Player, GPS System, Network
It's not the same "critter". The WD TV is a very simple small "box", you supply the USB storage media. I'm running HD content on mine from USB thumb drives. A 26 minute project shot in 1920x1080 17Mbps edited in Pinnacle Studio 12 and rendered to a 1920x1080 HD WMV file played beautifully on my 42" LCD TV.

From a thumb drive (file size not quite 2GB).

I really like this thing!
Bruce Foreman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2008, 10:06 PM   #29
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Harris View Post
so I've been ripping DVDs onto my computer as VOB files but can't watch them? when I click on the file to watch it, it says "This is a file that quicktime doesn't understand". I then tried to watch them using quick time and my DVD programs on my computer overrules it somehow but still doesn't play. Does anyone know what i'm doing wrong?
Try VLC Media Player on your computer.
Gints Klimanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2009, 02:03 AM   #30
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Posts: 758
Has anyone fed this thing footage from a Canon 5D Mark II?
That would seem to be a great way of testing its ability to handle high bit rate footage.

So far the only limits I see listed on the Western Digital website are resolution+framerate, not bitrate.
Bill Koehler is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The DV Info Network > Digital Video Industry News

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:19 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network