Analog Broadcast Shutdown - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The DV Info Network > Digital Video Industry News

Digital Video Industry News
Events, press releases, bulletins and dispatches from the DV world at large.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 15th, 2009, 02:42 PM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lexington, Ky - USA
Posts: 552
I used a 12db amp and adjustable 2-24 db amp

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert M Wright View Post
Have you tried an RF amplifier?
Yes, and oddly enough they actually made the signal worse. When talking to a transition support person at the local PBS affiliate, he said that was to be expected because the amp would increase the noise in the signal too and unlike analog (where you could squint through the snow if you have a bad signal), with digital too much noise interferes with the reception and once you hit the threshold...no signal...
__________________
3x-HD1000u - Ikan 8000HD- custom i7 PC - Vegas Pro 13 and 11 64 bit - Premiere Pro CS4 - and a whole mess of other equipment...
Bryan Daugherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2009, 10:28 AM   #17
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota (USA)
Posts: 2,171
I have a friend who lives in an apartment building about 40-50 miles from Minneapolis. Even before the analog broadcast shutdown, her only option was cable.
Robert M Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2009, 12:52 AM   #18
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Mission, TX
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan Daugherty View Post
...unlike analog (where you could squint through the snow if you have a bad signal), with digital too much noise interferes with the reception and once you hit the threshold...no signal...
Yeah that's the caveat with digital. When they finally converted all the Live ENG trucks at the CBS affiliate I used to work for that was the first thing they pointed out. The dish on the truck didn't always have to be perfectly aligned with the tower to establish a signal, but if for any reason we were to tweak it during a live shot we had to be careful, or simply avoid doing it and go with what we had, since there wouldn't be no "warnings" like there were with analog.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert M Wright View Post
I have a friend who lives in an apartment building about 40-50 miles from Minneapolis. Even before the analog broadcast shutdown, her only option was cable.
I live around the same range from the towers in my area too. Although, I was able to pull in some channels with an indoor antenna with a 55db amp. But eventually I installed an aerial antenna and even then I still have to install an amp to receive a pretty consistent signal.
__________________
Adalberto Lopez
adalbertolopez.com

Last edited by Adalberto Lopez; June 17th, 2009 at 12:59 AM. Reason: Grammar
Adalberto Lopez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2009, 02:05 AM   #19
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Wow........

Sounds like I should up stakes and spend some time in the States, make my fortune!

Was (incarnation #15) a "Cable Guy" who's speciality was getting an analogue signal where no analogue signal could be got!

The digital services worldwide have presented an interesting challenge in this respect.

Here in NZ, Australia and back in the UK, they have got around this terrestrial delivery problem by taking it "off world".

A consortium of the "big" channels (networks) club together and shoot their combined feeds to a satelite (funnily enough, here in NZ, the same one as Sky) and beam it back for reception via dish (free delivery, you have to pay for the purchase of dish and box).

Still a bugger if you can't erect an outside aerial tho'.

It's spawned mushrooms of grey dishes the length and breadth of all three countries.

Still waaaay behind India tho', they've been relying on sats for the last 25 years for rural TV delivery!


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2009, 07:54 AM   #20
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota (USA)
Posts: 2,171
My friend living 40-50 miles out from Minneapolis is stuck with cable, because the management company simply won't allow anything else. They aren't even letting the cable company re-wire the building (which is needed).
Robert M Wright is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The DV Info Network > Digital Video Industry News

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:37 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network