Connect 30" Apple Cinema HD to Windows PC! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The DV Info Network > Digital Video Industry News

Digital Video Industry News
Events, press releases, bulletins and dispatches from the DV world at large.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 31st, 2005, 05:14 AM   #1
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Connect 30" Apple Cinema HD to Windows PC!

Quote:
Matrox announces new dual link Parhelia™ DL256 PCI graphics card for 30" Apple Cinema HD Display® under Windows®
Source + full article: http://www.matrox.com/mga/workstatio...elia_dl256.cfm
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2005, 08:27 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 242
This is exactly what I've been waiting for...

...that and a $3000 check to fall out of the sky to allow me to purchase the screen to go along with it.
__________________
Brandon Greenlee
Brandon Greenlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2005, 03:56 AM   #3
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Yeah, that's definitely the downside. However, it's great that it is
possible because those screens ARE awesome, no doubt about that!

p.s. from what I understand the smaller apple screens with just
a signle DVI connector (newer models!?) can also work with a PC,
those screens are cheaper (but not as large)...
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2005, 11:01 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 242
I know I would kill to have any of them.

I wonder if apple is happy about this?

I was under the impression that they really didn't wish for this top screen to be pc compatible. I know it even made me once again re-evaluate why I don't need a mac when I heard that the largest screen was going to only be mac compatible.

I'm looking at my 27" sony wega right now and adding 3" more inches to it.

This thing must be absolute unreal to use as a computer screen. I wonder if its possible for it to be too big?
__________________
Brandon Greenlee
Brandon Greenlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2005, 04:33 PM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,308
I think I'd rather have 3 - 20" LCD monitors in a row for the same price.

Also, the Apple 30" display is not the biggest computer LCD monitor going. Samsung makes a 32" one for about the same price.
__________________
Need to rent camera gear in Vancouver BC?
Check me out at camerarentalsvancouver.com
Dylan Couper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2005, 11:48 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ridgefield Park, New Jersey, USA
Posts: 572
<<<-- Originally posted by Dylan Couper : I think I'd rather have 3 - 20" LCD monitors in a row for the same price.

Also, the Apple 30" display is not the biggest computer LCD monitor going. Samsung makes a 32" one for about the same price. -->>>

Can it compare to the Apple screen in terms of specs and performance though?
Jesse Bekas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2005, 12:43 AM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,308
<<<-- Originally posted by Jesse Bekas : <<<-- Originally posted by Dylan Couper : I think I'd rather have 3 - 20" LCD monitors in a row for the same price.

Also, the Apple 30" display is not the biggest computer LCD monitor going. Samsung makes a 32" one for about the same price. -->>>

Can it compare to the Apple screen in terms of specs and performance though? -->>>


Who cares? Bigger is ALWAYS better! :)
__________________
Need to rent camera gear in Vancouver BC?
Check me out at camerarentalsvancouver.com
Dylan Couper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2005, 08:17 AM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
(I realize you were joking, but I looked it up anyway... :-)

Is this what you had in mind http://product.samsung.com/cgi-bin/n...od_id=CK32PSNB? That's a 32" LCD screen but the resolution is only 1280x768 which is a far cry from Apple's 2560x1600 (more than 4x as many pixels). But if you really think "bigger is better" then why not go for the Samsung 40" LCD instead? http://product.samsung.com/cgi-bin/n...od_id=CK40BSNB Same 1280x768 resolution however.

I have a 22" Samsung widescreen monitor myself (1280x720) which is terrific when fed by component or s-video as an NTSC monitor. It also has a DVI connector, so I tried hooking that up to my computer. The pixels are just too big for that size screen when used as a computer monitor though, it made everything look blocky and low resolution.... like I had the "large print" edition of MacOS ;-) But the larger LCD's would work well for presentations I suppose...
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2005, 10:54 AM   #9
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,308
Actually Boyd, that's not the one I was looking at. I remember the 32" one had a resolution of 1900xsomething. Granted it still isn't as good as the Apple display. The one you pointed out is substantially cheaper though.

Now 40".....

THAT'S JUST CRAZY TALK!!!!!!!!


:)
__________________
Need to rent camera gear in Vancouver BC?
Check me out at camerarentalsvancouver.com
Dylan Couper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2005, 12:57 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
Posts: 40
More pixels!!!

Of course if more pixels are your requirement then IBM makes a 22" 9MP display for medical imaging.
http://www.pc.ibm.com/us/intellistation/t221/
And they talk about some applications needing two of these.
__________________
Devlyn Hukowich

TwoBit Digital Inc.
Video and Computer Geek
P4 3.06GHz, 2GB RAM, Matrox RT.x100, dual head display
Devlyn Hukowich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2005, 02:22 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 242
Wow that IBM monitor is insane.

I pulled up this review of it for any interested:
http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=8578

untilizing 4 DVI outputs for a max rez of 3840x2400
__________________
Brandon Greenlee
Brandon Greenlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2005, 02:31 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: warsaw, poland
Posts: 440
i found two different prices for that very monitor (if my search was ok):

8.900$ and 11.000 something$ which one is correct?

(i do not want to buy it - just curious)
Filip Kovcin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2005, 03:05 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 242
Probably closer to the $8k.

The two searches I did for it yielded results from $7-8.5k.

And everyone reccomends running duals....better refinance the house!
__________________
Brandon Greenlee
Brandon Greenlee is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The DV Info Network > Digital Video Industry News

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:12 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network