Canon T3 and T3i Announced - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The DV Info Network > Digital Video Industry News

Digital Video Industry News
Events, press releases, bulletins and dispatches from the DV world at large.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 7th, 2011, 05:20 PM   #16
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
If I recall, the Sony V1U and progeny have a crop mode for a digital zoom that looked pretty good. Any body ever shoot one fo those ? Was it noisier ?
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2011, 03:13 AM   #17
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 218
If it adds anything to the discussion, here's a video shot with the T2i's SD crop mode.

__________________
Canon 5D Mark II || L-Series Lenses || Steadicam Pilot || Final Cut Studio
www.lovestorymedia.com
Erik Andersen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2011, 03:39 PM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 975
Curious if the image coming out of the HDMI port in video mode is closer to the pixel dimension coming out of the 7D.
Andrew Stone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2011, 04:03 PM   #19
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Houma, La.
Posts: 1,400
Images: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erik Andersen View Post
If it adds anything to the discussion, here's a video shot with the T2i's SD crop mode.
Now DOF-ier.
__________________

-Ethan Cooper
Ethan Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2011, 05:50 PM   #20
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 579
yea that seems to be effect alright.

Its not very easy or quick to get into that mode on the t2i or to get out of it.
For instance you can't do it while recording.
Im not sure how usable its going to be for the work I do.
A 70-200 gives me all the zoom I need anyway, I think.
I have no desire to put my subjects skin flaws on a 42 inch hd screen.

A flip out screen would be nice though.
Ger Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2011, 10:59 PM   #21
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 795
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd View Post
No change to the clip length limit.
Is this confirmed? I can't find any information in Canon's specifications on clip length... but in their recent preview dpreview.com has a screen shot of the video format selection screen. The current selection shows:

1920x1080 30fps 60:00

What would the 60:00 refer to if not the clip length limit?

Edit: Nevermind, looks like that's total recording time available on the current card. Still cuts at 4gb per clip.
__________________
My latest short documentary: "Four Pauls: Bring the Hat Back!"
Evan Donn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2011, 09:26 PM   #22
Sponsor: JuicedLink
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 47
How about manual audio control? .... PLEASE ...
__________________
- Promotion: Win a Canon T3i !!! Drawing Oct 3, 2011
- President of juicedLink ... DVinfo sponsor
Robert Rozak is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The DV Info Network > Digital Video Industry News

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:05 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network