Gopro Hero 4 announced at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The DV Info Network > Digital Video Industry News

Digital Video Industry News
Events, press releases, bulletins and dispatches from the DV world at large.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 29th, 2014, 09:12 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Rossland, British Columbia
Posts: 966
Gopro Hero 4 announced

For those wanting more than a measly 15fps in 4k, here is the hero 4!

GoPro Official Website - Capture + share your world
__________________
There's never enough hours in the day!
Bryce Comer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2014, 09:36 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 198
Re: Gopro Hero 4 announced

Great!
But why is there no touch display on the most expensive Black version? I'de like to know why this feature is only for the Silver version.
__________________
http://www.songesdemoai.com/
Ronan Fournier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2014, 11:34 AM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,308
Re: Gopro Hero 4 announced

Either it would have driven the price point too high or they couldn't build it into the Black and keep the standard size case.

The funny thing is that the part I'm most excited about is the new battery door. That is so overdue.
__________________
Need to rent camera gear in Vancouver BC?
Check me out at camerarentalsvancouver.com
Dylan Couper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2014, 01:37 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 295
Re: Gopro Hero 4 announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronan Fournier View Post
Great!
But why is there no touch display on the most expensive Black version? I'de like to know why this feature is only for the Silver version.
I saw one claim that the higher frame rates cause the camera to run too hot for a touch screen.

Anyone know if the 4K is UHD only or full DCI (at 24 fps)?
Lawrence Bansbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2014, 09:53 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Hamilton, New Zealand
Posts: 745
Re: Gopro Hero 4 announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronan Fournier View Post
Great!
But why is there no touch display on the most expensive Black version? I'de like to know why this feature is only for the Silver version.
I'm wondering if they'll eventually release a "Black+" or something similar with the LCD display. I'd say they left it out because of heat and battery life concerns.
Jody Arnott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2014, 10:29 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Norwegian lost in California
Posts: 881
Re: Gopro Hero 4 announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jody Arnott View Post
I'd say they left it out because of heat and battery life concerns.
Due to increased thermal conductivity of darker colors, wouldn't it make more sense to make the 4K version silver rather than black...?

-- peer
__________________
www.NoPEER.com
Peer Landa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2014, 03:20 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 47
Re: Gopro Hero 4 announced

This is now the 5th iteration of this product and millions have been sold and used without an LCD. And you even have the option of tethering, so why all the whining?

Please consider that the Black version has to handle 2x the data-rate of Silver (30 4K frames vs 15 4K frames) and maybe they have just added another processor (eg. Canon 7D) and there is no room for an LCD. Also consider the lowly battery life and the increased price, which already seems very high.
Jurij Turnsek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2014, 08:17 PM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,308
Re: Gopro Hero 4 announced

I didn't notice anyone whining...

Did any of the rest of you guys notice anyone whining?

Plus I mentioned the possible space issue back in post #2.
And... How do you tether your phone while scuba diving?
__________________
Need to rent camera gear in Vancouver BC?
Check me out at camerarentalsvancouver.com
Dylan Couper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2014, 01:12 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 795
Re: Gopro Hero 4 announced

I had the LCD backpack for my previous gopros, but haven't missed it since I got the 3+. Tethering to a phone or ipad works better in a lot of situations - helmet mount, etc where looking at the back of the camera isn't practical or possible.

That said - for situations where tethering isn't practical, like diving, you can still get the LCD backpack for the 4.
__________________
My latest short documentary: "Four Pauls: Bring the Hat Back!"
Evan Donn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2014, 03:41 PM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 6
Re: Gopro Hero 4 announced

Shame it still has a distorted fisheye lens though.
Phil George is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2014, 07:02 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New Milford NJ
Posts: 56
Re: Gopro Hero 4 announced

Went to B&H today and ordered the GoPro 4HERO Black..traded in my 3+Black.
They promised to ship it out it out on Monday -When I left the store they said that they had 130 units in stock.

The only disappointing thing was that they only had the Adventure package and not the Music package--I really could have used the music mounts more than they adventure ones. Hopefully I can work it out with GoPro and trade the mounts in at a later date for the music ones.
Rich Adrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2014, 06:00 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 47
Re: Gopro Hero 4 announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil George View Post
Shame it still has a distorted fisheye lens though.
FOV can be changed and it is mentioned in all specifications:
Jurij Turnsek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2014, 10:53 AM   #13
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Re: Gopro Hero 4 announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurij Turnsek View Post
FOV can be changed and it is mentioned in all specifications:
Well, yes and no. You can't change the native FOV of the mounted lens, which is too wide for my tastes, and is what Phil was alluding to. What you are doing in the camera menu is an electronic zoom and it results in less than stellar video quality. When they first added this capability in the Hero2, I went to Medium from Wide and the video was really degraded. I though I had a defective camera and contacted GoPro support. After sending them a couple sample videos, they concluded that I did not have a defective camera and they told me that it was an electronic zoom of sorts. The noise was increased and color saturation was decreased.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 8th, 2014, 12:05 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 430
Re: Gopro Hero 4 announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Boston View Post
Well, yes and no. You can't change the native FOV of the mounted lens, which is too wide for my tastes, and is what Phil was alluding to. What you are doing in the camera menu is an electronic zoom and it results in less than stellar video quality. When they first added this capability in the Hero2, I went to Medium from Wide and the video was really degraded. I though I had a defective camera and contacted GoPro support. After sending them a couple sample videos, they concluded that I did not have a defective camera and they told me that it was an electronic zoom of sorts. The noise was increased and color saturation was decreased.
Well, no and yes. GoPro fixed the FOV with Hero3. (By correctly reading the pixels from the sensor for each range.) Medium and Narrow work fine. But obviously as you go to the higher resolution formats for any sensor the options with this approach go away, and with 4K the only choice is Wide.
Charles W. Hull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2014, 06:57 AM   #15
Tourist
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Williston ND
Posts: 1
Re: Gopro Hero 4 announced

Can anyone give me any suggestions on combining footage from a Canon XL2 and a Gopro hero 4 silver edition My main question is this : will combining 720p in 60i mode, look ok when cut scenes are added from the gorpro 4 silver in 1080p 60 fps? (i am intending on recording a music performance)
Chase Gartner is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The DV Info Network > Digital Video Industry News

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:46 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network