magic bullet goes real time at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The DV Info Network > Digital Video Industry News

Digital Video Industry News
Events, press releases, bulletins and dispatches from the DV world at large.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 17th, 2005, 04:38 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
magic bullet goes real time

Seems the new version of Magic bullet is stacking the CPU +GPU calculation power to offer real time.
obviously you will need a display card with a serious GPU capabilities (nvidia 7800) to get the best of it.

http://www.redgiantsoftware.com/mbe2press.html
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2005, 04:51 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sterling, Virginia
Posts: 226
Am I just way too tired to see it, or does it say it requires a Nvidia card in windows...I have an X850XT...it should work right?
Noah Hayes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2005, 02:26 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
unfortunately no mention of ATi product.
"NVIDIA 6800 or 7800 series graphics cards (or professional Quadro cards) with 256 MB VRAM or more (required for GPU acceleration) "
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2005, 03:28 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: ANKARA / TURKEY
Posts: 45
well yes they mention ATI
NVIDIA 6800 or ATI equivalent graphics cards with 256 MB VRAM or more (required for GPU acceleration) see www.redgiantsoftware.com for complete compatibility list (I did not check the web site though)
__________________
I'm young, I'm handsome, I'm fast and can't possibly be beaten - Muhammad Ali
Ahmet Ilhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2005, 05:28 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
strangely the reference to ATI card is done only in the MAC config.
it is not referenced into the PC config
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2005, 04:06 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 1,315
ATi for PC is not implemented in the current release. Very odd why not, but I guess Mac is a priority for them now.
If someone was a heavy PC user of the program I would suggest trading in their ATi card for an Nvidia as the speed benefits would be worth it based on what them show on the site.
__________________
Damnit Jim, I'm a film maker not a sysytems tech.
Ken Hodson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2005, 05:34 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Detroit MI
Posts: 253
They say it does realtime for standard definition, but they also say it now supports HDV. Does it do realtime for HDV as well since HDV uses the same memory/bandwidth as miniDV?
Not that it matter much to me at the moment since I don't shoot HDV. just curious.
__________________
ScapeFilms.com | My Photography | IMDB Profile
Mike Tesh is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The DV Info Network > Digital Video Industry News

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:51 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network