Sony PS3 now supports AVCHD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The DV Info Network > Digital Video Industry News

Digital Video Industry News
Events, press releases, bulletins and dispatches from the DV world at large.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 24th, 2007, 09:06 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
Sony PS3 now supports AVCHD

Sony has released verson 1.90 for the Playstation...

supports playback of AVCHD, up conversion of Audio playback and supports Blu-ray output of 1080 24P

among other updates included.........

Last edited by Ray Bell; July 24th, 2007 at 11:00 PM.
Ray Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2007, 12:35 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Luanda - ANGOLA & Lisbon - PORTUGAL
Posts: 160
playing back 1080 thru a PS3

Has anyone been able to output 1080 (i or 24p) material from their computer via ethernet to a PS3's HDMI output and onto a HD ready LC TV?
__________________
Kalunga Lima
PMW-350, PDW-F350, PDW-EX1, MacBookPro, MacPro 8-Core, Final Cut Studio 2, Canon 5D MkII
Kalunga Lima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2007, 01:32 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 2,488
I can render HDV 1080/60i files from my editing timeline to a USB2 hard drive and use that to stream video from the PS3 to a 1080p LCD display. This looks great and is much easier than trying to burn a DVD (either SD or HD).
Kevin Shaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2007, 02:03 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Luanda - ANGOLA & Lisbon - PORTUGAL
Posts: 160
Kevin, what settings are you using for rendering to 1080/601?
__________________
Kalunga Lima
PMW-350, PDW-F350, PDW-EX1, MacBookPro, MacPro 8-Core, Final Cut Studio 2, Canon 5D MkII
Kalunga Lima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2007, 02:10 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 2,488
I'm using the "Speed Encoder" option in Edius which lists the following defaults for 1080i output:

Video: 1440x1080, 29.97 fps, Video Aspect 16x9, MP@H14, 25.0 Mbps VBV, Buffer Size 896 KB

Audio: 48.0 Khz, 16bits, 2ch, 384kbps

Hope that helps...
Kevin Shaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2007, 04:44 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Luanda - ANGOLA & Lisbon - PORTUGAL
Posts: 160
Thanks Kevin for your input. I quoted you in another thread "Non-Linear Editing on the Mac"
__________________
Kalunga Lima
PMW-350, PDW-F350, PDW-EX1, MacBookPro, MacPro 8-Core, Final Cut Studio 2, Canon 5D MkII
Kalunga Lima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2007, 07:58 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Luanda - ANGOLA & Lisbon - PORTUGAL
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Shaw View Post
I can render HDV 1080/60i files from my editing timeline to a USB2 hard drive and use that to stream video from the PS3 to a 1080p LCD display. This looks great and is much easier than trying to burn a DVD (either SD or HD).
Kevin, one more question:

How do you get past the file size limitation in your USB2 Hard drive, or are your files smaller than 4 GB?

thanks
__________________
Kalunga Lima
PMW-350, PDW-F350, PDW-EX1, MacBookPro, MacPro 8-Core, Final Cut Studio 2, Canon 5D MkII
Kalunga Lima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2007, 04:20 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 2,488
As far as I know that's correct: the PS3 only recognizes FAT32 partitions and hence file sizes under 4GB. That's still about 20 minutes of HDV material at 1080i or a little more at 720p.
Kevin Shaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2007, 11:42 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 539
I tried a myriad of different settings recently exporting an H.264 file from Adobe Premiere Pro CS3 for playback on a PS3 and everything came up as corrupted data.

I tried a bunch of 1280x720p settings, and a bunch of 1440x1080p settings (i.e. main profile, high profile, different levels, etc.)

I tried copying from a memory stick, and also by streaming with Red Kawa's server, but it always came up as corrupted data.

The one thing I didn't try was changing the frame rate. I wanted to keep it at 23.976p but I figure I'll try 29.976p tonight and see if that fixes things.

Otherwise.... back to MPEG-2.
Craig Irving is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2007, 01:17 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Luanda - ANGOLA & Lisbon - PORTUGAL
Posts: 160
Possible Mac Blu-ray authoring work-around

Apparently people have been able to burn 1920x1080 clips on a regular DVD on a MAC that will play back in a PS3.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zsolt Gordos View Post
Piotr,

there is no directory. You compress your whole media into one single .m2t file. The audio is included.
I use Mac and there is no blu ray support in DVD SP yet. So if I want to watch my finished project on a big screen from my PS3, I have to compress the FCP sequence with Compressor to a .m2t file. Here I can select stream audio in the options tab. This will change the .m2v project to .m2t, dont ask me how...
Then I burn this file on a normal DVD, thats all. 18 minutes 1920x1080 clip was 3.2Gb. Works very well.

Unfortunately there is no authoring software for Mac yet. But I think for PC you have a couple of them, you may give it a try. Roxio has something like Easy Media Creator...if I remember well. But I have to admit, I am not much into PC stuff.
Logically with a Blu-Ray burner and Sonic solutions Toast 8 software, one should be able to “author” a 2 hour PS3 compatible 1920x1080 file on a blu-ray disc using a Mac???

Having said ths, I still don't understand why it's taking so long to a FCP compatible Blu-ray authoring solution...
__________________
Kalunga Lima
PMW-350, PDW-F350, PDW-EX1, MacBookPro, MacPro 8-Core, Final Cut Studio 2, Canon 5D MkII
Kalunga Lima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2007, 05:55 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,771
1.92 released today
http://www.us.playstation.com/ps3/ne...304&LINK=PS3SU

Quote:
The [Image Quality Adjustment] option in the control panel has been changed to [AV Settings].
You can now play AVCHD-format video files that are saved on Memory Stick™ media or on the hard disk of a video camera.
You can now operate the (Slow (Back)) and (Frame Reverse) functions when playing video files saved on storage media or on the hard disk.
I hope Sony will add compatibilities with High Definitions H.264 camcorders other than AVCHD such as the ones from Hitachi, Sanyo and Samsung.
Paulo Teixeira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2007, 09:47 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,771
2.0 to be released very soon.

http://blog.us.playstation.com/2007/...e-update-v200/

http://blog.us.playstation.com/2007/...demonstration/

-EDIT-
They finally got the 2.0 firmware page up.
http://www.us.playstation.com/PS3/Ne...s/default.html

Last edited by Paulo Teixeira; November 8th, 2007 at 02:06 PM.
Paulo Teixeira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2007, 10:07 PM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,771
Firmware Update 2.01 released.
http://blog.us.playstation.com/2007/...e-update-v201/

Last edited by Paulo Teixeira; November 20th, 2007 at 12:42 AM.
Paulo Teixeira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 30th, 2007, 03:31 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 114
I can't get my PS3 to play back anything rendered out of PPro CS3 - neigher MPE2, nor AVC (H.264). The HDV MPEG2 was playing before; I will try older HDV clips captured and rendered out with PPro CS2. I am wondering if I should blame PS3 firmware 2.01 instead of CS3...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Irving View Post
I tried a myriad of different settings recently exporting an H.264 file from Adobe Premiere Pro CS3 for playback on a PS3 and everything came up as corrupted data.

I tried a bunch of 1280x720p settings, and a bunch of 1440x1080p settings (i.e. main profile, high profile, different levels, etc.)

I tried copying from a memory stick, and also by streaming with Red Kawa's server, but it always came up as corrupted data.

The one thing I didn't try was changing the frame rate. I wanted to keep it at 23.976p but I figure I'll try 29.976p tonight and see if that fixes things.

Otherwise.... back to MPEG-2.
Maksim Yankovskiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 30th, 2007, 08:17 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 539
Hmmm. I haven't had any issues w/ firmware 2.01

All the HDV and MPEG-2 exports I've stored on the PS3 hard drive are still playing back fine. It's only H.264 that I couldn't get to work properly, but I haven't tried it lately.
Craig Irving is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The DV Info Network > Digital Video Industry News

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:02 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network