Final Cut to PS3? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center

Distribution Center
PC or Mac, how to take your video to DVD or the Internet.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 3rd, 2008, 09:52 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 616
Final Cut to PS3?

Eventually I'll have to convert 720x480, anamorphic, and HDV Final Cut projects to play on PS3. Is there a fool proof codec from final cut?
Aric Mannion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2008, 12:51 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 616
Please tell me how to export HDV from final cut for the PS3!
I've tried everything, h264, divx, mp4, I must be missing some stupid little setting.
Aric Mannion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2008, 12:32 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 616
I've read somewhere in quicktime you can:
export> mp4> select pass through for audio and video.
This doesn't compress the video so it only takes a moment. Worked on one test, so I guess this is the way to go.
Aric Mannion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2008, 09:36 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 145
I would love if the PS3 would just play .mov
That would make my life and yours simple!

Let me know what you get to work the best...I'm trying your suggestion now.
Jason Boyette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2008, 10:13 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 145
I have the latest update for the PS3 and i am not able to play .mp4 files?
What am I doing wrong?
Jason Boyette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2008, 11:28 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 616
Did you try my pass through export idea? I started with an mp4 video that people confirmed should play, and it didn't! So then I did the pass through just for the hell of it. The new file I made turned out to be EXACTLY the same as the original. I tried to play it anyways and the new one worked. It's very strange, and I haven't tried from a .mov yet.

a couple things:
Don't use "mp4(Isma)" or whatever from the drop down just use: "mp4".
The dimensions need to be divisible by some certain number (I forgot) just use standard dimensions. It has to be under 4 gigs, the audio must be AAC so don't "pass through" if you need to change that. Very finicky machine...

It's not uncommon for a video to work but then stop working a 3rd of the way through, so good luck.
Aric Mannion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2008, 11:30 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 145
I don't recall the pass through checkbox...I'll look again tonight!
Jason Boyette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2008, 10:41 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Boyette View Post
I don't recall the pass through checkbox...I'll look again tonight!
Your right the pass through is not an option... did you actually try converting it? (I haven't) Let me know if you find successful settings.
There is a program called handbrake online. It has a toggle drawer with presets, including PS3. That has worked for me when converting a dvd chapter.
Aric Mannion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2008, 07:50 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 145
Every way I've tried out of Final Cut and Quicktime has not been successful. I will try Handbrake...thanks for the suggestion!

I'll get back to you on the results and quality.
Jason Boyette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2008, 07:48 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 145
Handbrake will only work with DVD's (unless I pushed the wrong buttons)
So I threw the quicktime into MPEG streamclip and exported as .mp4
tried it on the PS3...unsupported data...again.

I give up.

Why can't I just put quicktime on my PS3...that would solve any and all problems!

Jason
Jason Boyette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2008, 07:56 AM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cambridge UK
Posts: 2,835
Why not just export your HD as an m2t. file as these play beautifully on the PS3? I can also play DivX files but in this case the file size limit is stated as 2GB maximum on Sony's PS3 website.
__________________
Andy K Wilkinson - http://www.shootingimage.co.uk
Cambridge (UK) Corporate Video Production
Andy Wilkinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2008, 08:00 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 145
This works great using Sony Vegas and a PC
but Final Cut and Mac's don't like .m2t

I'm trying to get it out of final cut to play on the ps3
any suggestions?
Jason Boyette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2008, 08:03 AM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cambridge UK
Posts: 2,835
Sorry mate, I use Vegas so was unaware of this issue with Final Cut. Don't know what to suggest. Anyone???
__________________
Andy K Wilkinson - http://www.shootingimage.co.uk
Cambridge (UK) Corporate Video Production
Andy Wilkinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2008, 08:12 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 145
Yes...my only complaint about the PS3...and Final Cut so far is there lack of communication.

I'm sure there is a possible work around out there somewhere
Anybody find a easy solution I'll send them some world famous Bojangles' Chicken and Biscuits from the great state of NC!
Jason Boyette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2008, 03:48 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 616
to get an hdv file to the ps3 from quicktime -export and select mp4. In the options select mp4 (not mp4 ISMA) video format: H.264
Data Rate: I tried 26000kbits which made it 28.39mbits
image size 1920x1080 HD
Audio: AAC-LC

This seemed to work...
The video seemed to stutter inconsistently, maybe from the data rate?

Please add other methods that may work! Seems like hdv is already mpeg 2 why doesn't it work without compressing? Just because it's a .mov?
Aric Mannion is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:09 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network