Anamorphic Sequence Through Compressor at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center

Distribution Center
PC or Mac, how to take your video to DVD or the Internet.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 10th, 2008, 05:02 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Hammond, LA
Posts: 84
Anamorphic Sequence Through Compressor

Should I export my regular ANAMORPHIC sequence through compressor as 4:3, then set up my project in DVD Studio Pro as anamorphic? Compressor has a 16:9 setting, but wouldn't this burn the letterboxing into the video permanently as 4:3?
Bryan Aycock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2008, 08:09 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan Aycock View Post
Should I export my regular ANAMORPHIC sequence through compressor as 4:3, then set up my project in DVD Studio Pro as anamorphic? Compressor has a 16:9 setting, but wouldn't this burn the letterboxing into the video permanently as 4:3?
Depending on the version of Compressor you are using:

If it's Compressor 3 (in FCS 2) don't do anything except pick the MPEG setting you want. Compressor will put the anamorphic tag in the file automatically.

Earlier versions you should pick the MPEG codec that indicates 16:9. This will not force a letterboxed version of your video in 4:3. The only way to do that is to import your 16:9 sequence into a 4:3 sequence. FCP will automatically letterbox the sequence on the timeline.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2008, 11:07 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Hammond, LA
Posts: 84
Thanks

So how do I find out what versions of the software I have?
Bryan Aycock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2008, 02:50 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 561
Bryan,

The version number can be viewed by choosing Compressor > About Compressor from the main menu.

If you have Final Cut Studio 2, you should have version 3 of compressor. Otherwise, it's probably a version 2.

- Martin
__________________
Martin Pauly
Martin Pauly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2008, 09:06 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Hammond, LA
Posts: 84
so...

So the encoder settings in DVD Studio Pro (16:9, bitrate, etc) don't apply...PERIOD...to externally converted MPEG 2 streams?
Bryan Aycock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2008, 12:48 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 561
I think you can still change the flags for the aspect ratio in DVD Studio Pro, but the actual encoding of the video remains unchanged. So bitrate and other quality settings, whether the video is letterboxed/resized/cropped etc. are not touched by DVD Studio Pro if you encode an .m2v file externally through Compressor.

- Martin
__________________
Martin Pauly
Martin Pauly is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:37 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network