file size increase upon render at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center

Distribution Center
PC or Mac, how to take your video to DVD or the Internet.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 2nd, 2008, 10:29 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Karachi, Pakistan
Posts: 210
file size increase upon render

Hi people. I've just downloaded a 8MB zipped video file. When unzipped it came out to 18.5 MB. That in itself was new to me! I thought video files couldn't be zipped so effectively. Well anyway, the file has a .MOV extension, Gspot tells me the recommended display size is 1152 x 836, it runs at 10 FPS and is encoded in QT Animation (RLE). The audio codec is IMA 4:1 16-bit.

I imported this file onto Vegas 7 making sure I was using the recommended frame size etc. I did some minor edits and boosted up the audio a little. And then proceeded to render it out. I wanted to keep the same attributes while only changing the frame size from 1152 x 836 to a smaller 800 x 600.

What's happening is that when rendered out in Vegas I end up with a MOV of around 135 MB!!!!! But why????? I'm using the same attributes as in the original file, I'm even reducing the frame size!!! Then why is my render so much larger than the original???????

Please help!
__________________
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit // i7 2600K // 16GB RAM // ASUS P8P67 Board // NVIDIA GTX 470
Sony Vegas Pro 13 // Adobe Premiere Pro CC 2014 // http://vimeo.com/alijafri

Last edited by Ali Jafri; December 2nd, 2008 at 10:32 PM. Reason: detail
Ali Jafri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2008, 12:56 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Karachi, Pakistan
Posts: 210
Setting bitrate for QT Animation in Vegas

Okay I think I've figured out why the file size is so large. It has to do with the bitrate. The original file is 600 and my render is showing 3400. The only thing is that when I open the dialog box in Vegas for rendering it doesn't give me an option to set bitrate, at least not with the Animation preset in quicktime. I can set the bitrate for sorenson 3 or cinepak or H.263 and the render size is even 15 MB but the quality of the video sucks!

In vegas how can I choose the Quicktime animation preset and also set my own bitrate? Or do I have to render it out and take it into procoder or some other transcoder?

Anyone?
__________________
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit // i7 2600K // 16GB RAM // ASUS P8P67 Board // NVIDIA GTX 470
Sony Vegas Pro 13 // Adobe Premiere Pro CC 2014 // http://vimeo.com/alijafri
Ali Jafri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2008, 03:14 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 978
You are correct about why the file size jumped. I however don't use vegas so I cannot offer you directions on how to set it when encoding with Vegas. You might get a better response in the Vegas forum or check the help settings for that codec.
__________________
Simple Thought Productions - Life @ 30,000 Words per second
Josh Chesarek is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:51 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network