Advice please at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center

Distribution Center
PC or Mac, how to take your video to DVD or the Internet.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 25th, 2004, 01:06 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Quebec Canada
Posts: 8
Advice please

Hello,
I'm new to DVD authoring.

I have a video of a theater play wich is around 1h57 min.

I have to make a DVD with a couple of chapters (1 for each scene)

I use tmpgenc plus 2.x and DVD architect 2.0.

What are the settings I should use to have the best result on a standard disc (4.7 gig)?

Thank you all. You're help will be greatly appreciated.

Pascal
Pascal Grondin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2004, 02:00 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 540
I'm not familiar with either of the programs that you mention, but your bit settings should be the same....For a 2-hour video, you should be able to use a video bit rate of 3.5 Mbps with AIFF audio and a bit rate of 4.8 with AC-3 audio. I'd set your max bit rate to nothing higher than 7.8 Mbps.

-vic
__________________
-- Vic Owen --
Vic Owen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2004, 04:12 PM   #3
Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 571
I think you are too close to the two hour mark. Especially if you intend to have chapters and a menu, these take up space as well. If you can, you should edit at least five minutes out (probably more) so that you have some breathing room. You will have to use the lowest bit rate you have available with your software.

cheers,
__________________
Daniel Kohl

Frankenstein meets XL1
Daniel Kohl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2004, 03:11 AM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Actually chapter points do not take up any additional room
(it does, but it is so small you wan't notice it on 4.5 GB), ofcourse
a chapter selection screen does take up more space. However
menu's (especially static ones) don't eat that much space.

In DVD Architect you should have the option (if you load the AVI)
to have it encode to fit the disc, otherwise you can do some
calculations (as the others have done):

(4.5 GB * 1000) / 120 = 37.5 MB per minute, or 0.625 MB/sec
which is a bitrate of around 5 mbit/sec for the TOTAL stream
(including video, audio and subtitles). This assumes you do not
have any other massive content like motion menu's etc.

Uncompressed audio (PCM) takes:

48 kHz * 16 bit * 2 channels = 192000 bytes per second or 0.18
mbits/sec. It is probably best to set the average to 4.5 or 4 mbit/s
if your doing the (VBR) encode in TMPGEnc with the max probably
around 7 (otherwise it will get too high I think). I always set the
low at 0.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2004, 08:07 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Quebec Canada
Posts: 8
thank you guys,

I followed Rob's advice and encoded it with Architect (fit to disc). It worked fine with my PC, using Intervideo windvd, but when I try to read it with my dvd player, nothing happens. I see the name of the volume but then it says the disc is incompatible.

Any idea? The disc is DVD-R.

Is there a way to make an image(.iso) of the DVD with Architect and then burn it with another software?

Thanks in advance.
Pascal Grondin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2004, 05:04 AM   #6
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I can't remember from memory if you can do that with DVDA, I
can't check at the moment either.

It sounds like your DVD player is not able to either read -R or is
not to keen on your media. However, this could also be an issue
with your burner and the media. If you can try a +R disc or otherwise
a different brand of -R.

I myself have had quite a few burning and playback problems
with TDK +R discs for example. However, certain other brands
play just fine (Sony, Ricoh etc.).

Compatability between media and burner/player is still far from
optimal in my opinion. Some experimenting might be in order!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2004, 11:25 AM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Quebec Canada
Posts: 8
Just to let you know,

After doing extensive testing, I found out that the problem was my DVD burner. Fortunately, it is still under warranty. I should have a new one by next tuesday.

Thanks again Rob.
Pascal Grondin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:21 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network