Quicktime 7 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center

Distribution Center
PC or Mac, how to take your video to DVD or the Internet.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 2nd, 2005, 02:41 PM   #1
New Boot
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 7
Quicktime 7

I heard that quicktime 7 crashes FCP 4.5 and is a nightmare if you are running Pro Tools in conjunction with FCP 4.5. Anybody else hear the same thing? Obviously the Beta testing wasnt done well enough.

Be careful,

Adam Valadez
Adam Israel Valadez

Austin, Tx
Adam Israel Valadez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2005, 04:47 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
It may or may not be true. If you can't afford to not have your tools working
then don't upgrade until bug fixes have come out or enough people have
upgraded without problems. Usually a new product always has some problems
at first release.

Only upgrade if you have the time to fix/re-install your system if it doesn't
work anymore.

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2005, 06:58 PM   #3
Posts: n/a
I don't know about w/ProTools, but I am running FCP 4.5 and QT 7.0 on a Dual 2.5. Works great. No crashes. It has 4 gigs of RAM ;)
  Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2005, 07:03 PM   #4
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,463
Apple has posted an update for FCP and the other "pro" applications which is supposed to address some of the problems. There are separate versions for both Tiger and Panther:


But I think Rob's advice is right on target. I'm in the middle of a big project and have no intention of upgrading to Tiger, QT7, FCP5 or even MacOS X 10.3.9 until after it's done. Nothin's broke, so I ain't fixin' it! ;-) Visiting the support forums on Apple's site will give you an idea of the problems which some people are experiencing.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2005, 07:29 PM   #5
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 102
Since installing Quicktime 7 I have problems exporting movies to MPEG-4 in compressor. The audio track gets sped up about 150% everytime. Also, sometimes audio tracks from some clips disappear when I export as a Quicktime movie. Very frustrating. I use Pro Tools too, and it seems to work fine with QT 7. No problems exporting audio as as OMF from FCP and importing it into Pro Tools. I'm using Pro Tools LE version 6.9.
Media Kobo
Rob Moreno is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:59 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network