2 burners on 1 IDE= won't burn at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center

Distribution Center
PC or Mac, how to take your video to DVD or the Internet.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 17th, 2006, 11:43 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: manila, philippines
Posts: 102
2 burners on 1 IDE= won't burn

i tried all possible combinations of master, slave and cable select, and the only way my samsung burner will work is if i disconnect the other one. any ideas? thanks.
Mo Zee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2006, 11:45 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mo Zee
i tried all possible combinations of master, slave and cable select, and the only way my samsung burner will work is if i disconnect the other one. any ideas? thanks.
I would change the cable! Try that. Hope it helps...
__________________
"Finding Gold In Tailings" www.dredgingworld.com
John L Scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2006, 11:55 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: aTx
Posts: 15
FYI you can only access one device per channel at a time. So you wouldn't be able to simultaneously use both burners without a big performance hit. That is also why IDE RAID recommends only one hard drive per channel.

SATA does away with this by only giving the option of one drive per channel.
Chris Chang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2006, 05:01 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Chang
FYI you can only access one device per channel at a time. So you wouldn't be able to simultaneously use both burners without a big performance hit. That is also why IDE RAID recommends only one hard drive per channel.

SATA does away with this by only giving the option of one drive per channel.
This is not accurate. While the devices are not in use at the same instant, that time slice is not the issue. I suspect the performance on the channel is set low.

In Windows Control Panel, Open System. Select the Hardware tab, and click on the Device Manager button. Expand the IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers. Under Primary and Secondary IDE Channel (right click, select Properties), open the Advanced Settings tab. The Transfer Mode should be DMA If Available. If it is not, change it each device and channel (and it will require a restart). Modern DVD writers should be Ultra DMA Mode 2 when detected.

I routinely write at 16X to two DVD drives on the same channel in multi-write mode in Nero.
George Ellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2006, 10:02 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: manila, philippines
Posts: 102
all is dma if available. I swapped the cable and it still wont burn.

the burner that won't work, was on the same cable with a different burner before (DVD also), and it worked fine. when i swapped the burner it was with (now just a cd rom burner) it won't work. Could this be the problem? That it's paired with a cd burner? thanks.
Mo Zee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2006, 04:16 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,222
[QUOTE=Mo Zee]all is dma if available. I swapped the cable and it still wont burn.

I've had the same trouble and have found that my burners need to be on their own IDE channels, and that they have to be on the motherboard, rather than on my PCI IDE port expander cards. I don't know why I've had this limitation with pretty much every system I've tried, but I've had various revisions of the nVidia nForce (1, 2, 3) chip sets. Other chipsets may not have this problem. The Pioneer drives are so picky that they have to be Master and seem to need to have their own IDE cable with no Slaves devices. Other DVD burners (Sony, NEC, BenQ) are less picky but still demand to be IDE Master or they won't burn properly.
Gints Klimanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2006, 04:18 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,222
Keyboard shortcut to System Properties

Oh, and I feel like such a dork ....

You can bring up the System Properties panel with keyboard shortcut Start Key + Break key.
Gints Klimanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2006, 08:16 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: manila, philippines
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gints Klimanis
I've had the same trouble and have found that my burners need to be on their own IDE channels, and that they have to be on the motherboard, rather than on my PCI IDE port expander cards. I don't know why I've had this limitation with pretty much every system I've tried, but I've had various revisions of the nVidia nForce (1, 2, 3) chip sets. Other chipsets may not have this problem. The Pioneer drives are so picky that they have to be Master and seem to need to have their own IDE cable with no Slaves devices. Other DVD burners (Sony, NEC, BenQ) are less picky but still demand to be IDE Master or they won't burn properly.
thanks. i guess i'll just have to keep that old cd burner unplugged till i really need to use it- i occasionally encounter cds that my dvd roms can't read.
Mo Zee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2006, 02:20 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 77
Most of the IDE cards available don't support DMA 0 (I think that is the mode that burners require) I tried a couple different ones in my burner box until I found this out. SIGII make ones that work. I posted about this in the thread about building your one DVD duplicator M
__________________
DVX100a, PV-DV953
Rode NT3, NT1a, videomic
Raynox HD6600pro WA Lens
Vegas6+DVD
Mark Burlingame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2006, 10:38 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Santa Cruz, California
Posts: 30
Sometimes DVD burner's don't play nice on the same channel.

Eventually SATA will fix all this for us :)
Derek Prestegard is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:15 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network