Repeating Frames in Scope Box at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > divergent media ScopeBox and ClipWrap

divergent media ScopeBox and ClipWrap
The official support forums for divergent media's ScopeBox (video monitoring and recorder) and ClipWrap (m2t to .mov re-wrap).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 30th, 2011, 12:24 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Summerville, SC
Posts: 2
Repeating Frames in Scope Box

I am currently having an issue in scopebox with something I can only describe as repeating frames. I guess this is similar to duplicate frames but the frames seem to be duplicate but are in an order like 1,2,3,1,2,3,1,2,3,4,5,6. This is very strange and before I used scopebox to record the video the day before the shoot I let scopebox record for an hour and there were no issues on the system hard drive and also an external drive connected by FW 800. This is original footage and looks to be intact except for these repeating frames. Does anyone have any suggestions for this problem? One last thing. I recorded video starting with scopebox and was having no issues until I checked the clips and started seeing this issue. It did not occur in the first 10 clips that I recorded. I immediately switched to quicktime to record the video and did not have another problem. I did not restart the computer or anything I just shut down scopebox and immediately opened quicktime. Is this an issue with Scopebox? Here is a link to a sample of what the footage looks like so that you have an idea.

YouTube - ‪kellytest‬‏
Shawn Gibbons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2011, 12:59 PM   #2
Sponsor: divergent media
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 201
Re: Repeating Frames in Scope Box

Hi there - that's an odd effect. What type of camera or capture device are you using?

-Colin
__________________
Divergent Media Support
www.divergentmedia.com
Colin McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2011, 01:12 PM   #3
Tourist
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Summerville, SC
Posts: 2
Re: Repeating Frames in Scope Box

Hello Colin,

I am not sure but I have done a couple of tests and I think it was a factor of not checking the Remove Duplicate Frames box. I thought this was done while recording, but I cannot confirm it. I just tried it with it checked and with it unchecked. The unchecked test had the audio misaligned, but the video did not studder. I am using the HVX 200 and I was recording in 720p (not native). If this is in fact because of not checking the Remove Duplicate Frames, is there a way of repairing the footage? The format properties of the footage shows 59.94 fps and it should show 24p. I think this is the issue and I hope this footage is not lost.
Shawn Gibbons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2011, 03:00 PM   #4
Sponsor: divergent media
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 201
Re: Repeating Frames in Scope Box

To remove a pulldown from video after shooting, you can add it to a bin in FCP, highlight it, and then do "remove advanced pulldown" from the "Tools" menu. That should correct it.
__________________
Divergent Media Support
www.divergentmedia.com
Colin McFadden is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > divergent media ScopeBox and ClipWrap

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:00 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network