Glidetrack SD vs. HD? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Support Your Local Camera > Dolly / Track / Cable


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 28th, 2009, 01:14 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 29
Glidetrack SD vs. HD?

I almost pulled the trigger and bought the Glidetrack a few weeks ago but I got cold feet because I wasn't sure which model I should get. I think I'm only planning on using it with the 5DMKII, so I wasn't sure if I should get the SD model or the HD model. I feel like the SD model would be sufficient but I don't want to get it and then wish I had gotten the HD model instead :)
Any feedback on this issue? Thanks in advance!

-seth
Seth Mondragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2009, 05:40 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 224
Personally, I would go with the HD just for the extra durability.

But, if you're going to be using the 5DMKII, the SD should be ok for you unless you plan on putting a huge lens on it.
Bryan Gilchrist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2009, 12:54 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 46
I just bought and received the Glidetrack HD to use with my 5DMII and after some help by Alistair on fine-tuning the slider it works like a charm. The HD model is VERY durable and more than enough for the 5DMII with my lenses (85MM 1.2L, 24-70mm 2.8L). Can't wait to shoot some real stuff with it.
__________________
Aaron Nanto | Photo+Cinema
www.aaronnanto.com
Aaron Nanto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2009, 12:24 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Holmdel, NJ
Posts: 81
make one. It's called the ZaZaSlider
http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showthread.php?t=145701

It's $156 for the track. Then all you need to do is cap the ends, and tap the holes. REALLY SIMPLE.
__________________
Check out my blog at KevinSawicki.com
Kevin Sawicki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2009, 04:12 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: spain
Posts: 1,169
Hola guys, i want to buy a glide track for my z1....A simple question: i use a Cartoni Focus, the head that i see on the pix of the site is included on the price or should i use the head of the cartoni focus?

Thx
Marcus Martell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2009, 04:04 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Sawicki View Post
make one. It's called the ZaZaSlider
dvxuser.com/V6/showthread.php?t=145701

It's $156 for the track. Then all you need to do is cap the ends, and tap the holes. REALLY SIMPLE.
I used Kevin's basic concept for mine. Works great! And Igus is a good company, I've made two sliders so far and they never charge me for shipping. The Igus parts are heavy duty, I think it'd cost some bucks if they charged for that.
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2009, 12:10 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 97
let me start by saying Glidetrack and the owner Alistair offer great service. I sent an email this morning regarding the product and Alistair called me from Scotland (I live in Sydney Australia) within 20 minuted of my email.

We spoke about what i planned shooting(weddings) and he said the SD with 0.5 metre length would be perfect for weddings as he uses the same one and it is portable. He also pointed me to some videos of the glidetrack in motion with the Canon XH-A1. Brilliant shots and photography.

I am pleased i am dealing with a reputable company and with an owner who cares about his customers and product.... Now I am licking my lips waiting for it!!!!
Jason Selmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2009, 01:38 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
My sliders are 39" but I agree that you only need about half that length. I've found that a 39" slide is tricky, shorter slides are way easy and 39" is also a bit long and bulky. Also, to create the slide aesthetic, you only need to slide a foot or two usually. I don't know what these numbers convert to in metric, I think an inch is equal to a a hectare or something. I'm an American.
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2009, 05:44 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 97
i got my 0.5 meter glidetrack today!!! just shot some footage today and will edit it tomorrow... Brilliant system!!!!

cant recommend the system and service.. Alistair is easy and friendly to deal with!!
Attached Thumbnails
Glidetrack SD vs. HD?-glidetrack-1-.jpg   Glidetrack SD vs. HD?-glidetrack.jpg  

Jason Selmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2009, 05:38 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: spain
Posts: 1,169
Jason is it the SD or the HD?
Marcus Martell is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Support Your Local Camera > Dolly / Track / Cable

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:51 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network