Issue with the site? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The DV Info Network > DV Info Net Announcements

DV Info Net Announcements
Important news relating to the DV Info Net site and these message boards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 11th, 2008, 03:12 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
Issue with the site?

Hi,

I'm not sure if this is where I should be posting this (if it's not, I'm sorry, mods...feel free to move it where it belongs). I was wondering if anyone here is experiencing issues whenever they click on a link or a button. Whenever I click on a button or a link, a considerable amount of times I get a pop window asking me if I want to "save" or "open with" the "forumdisplay.php".
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2008, 07:29 AM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Which browser and operating system are you using?
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2008, 01:31 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
Hi Chris,

I'm using firefox and win xp. Is this a common issue with this setup?
It's nothing serious. I can still surf here. But I do get my share of pop up windows. For instance I just tried to open a thread and I got "index.php" window.
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2008, 02:07 PM   #4
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I'm using firefox on WinXP with no such issues.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2008, 08:56 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: R.S.M. Calif USA
Posts: 16
All of the time! Very, very, annoying to say th least.
I use Firefox, both at home and at work. I do not seem to have the problem at work, so I've chalked it up to some stupid setting that I must have turned on/off inadvertently. I've uninstalled every add-on at home, to no avail.
It really gets me miffed when it happens during the log-in screen.
....you have five tries remaining...burrr.
However, this is the only forum on which I have the problem???
Ernest Freeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2008, 09:35 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafael Lopes View Post
Hi,

I'm not sure if this is where I should be posting this (if it's not, I'm sorry, mods...feel free to move it where it belongs). I was wondering if anyone here is experiencing issues whenever they click on a link or a button. Whenever I click on a button or a link, a considerable amount of times I get a pop window asking me if I want to "save" or "open with" the "forumdisplay.php".
This doesn't really have anything to do with the site. This is a known bug with Firefox relating to php pages and a combination of things still in the air. I don't know if the folks at Firefox have figured out what is causing it yet though (it is apparently very sporadic). Probably something to do with a combination of Firefox + php + one or more plugins acting together under certain circumstances. Whatever it is... they are aware of it and would imagine trying to find a remedy. So, for whatever it's worth... it's not the site.

Last edited by Robert Huber; May 11th, 2008 at 09:37 PM. Reason: spelling
Robert Huber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2008, 09:41 PM   #7
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Thanks Robert -- for what it's worth, my default browser is FireFox on WinXP and I've never seen the issue.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2008, 10:39 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: R.S.M. Calif USA
Posts: 16
After posting my reply, I looked to see if any plug-ins remained within Firefox that are not present at work. The culprit, so it seems for me, was “Real Player”. Not the first time that I’ve had issues with these guys. Needless to say, it is gone and so are the constant issues with this particular site. Not that it was the site, only a conflict between the two.
Ernest Freeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2008, 10:46 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bellevue, Washington
Posts: 145
I hate Real Player!

OOPS! Did I say that out loud? I live too close to Seattle to be saying those kinds of things...
Doug Okamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2008, 10:47 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd View Post
Thanks Robert -- for what it's worth, my default browser is FireFox on WinXP and I've never seen the issue.
Same here. I use Firefox almost exculsively, and I have never had the problem. I guess that is why it is so difficult to track. A lot of people are having the problem though.

For example:
http://support.mozilla.com/tiki-view...entStyle_plain
Robert Huber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2008, 11:15 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
This thing.................

just keeps rumbleing on.

Seems it was a topic of discussion about the time I joined up and still happens to my system in fits and starts.

Thing is, I use IE and don't have Real Player.

The constants seem to be: Win XP, DVinfo, Factor "X" (and I can't even confirm the Win XP bit!).


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2008, 11:49 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Soucy View Post
just keeps rumbleing on.

The constants seem to be: Win XP, DVinfo, Factor "X" (and I can't even confirm the Win XP bit!).


CS
See... some people are reporting it with Vista too. It's a crafty one. Kind of makes one wonder though if it is really a bug or in fact a reaction to an infection of sorts.
Robert Huber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2008, 02:48 AM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
It's weird because it comes and goes. I can spend months without it ever happening and then I get a full month when all links/buttons I press give me a pop up window the first time I click on them.
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2008, 06:47 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Burton on Trent, UK
Posts: 193
This happens to me quite often with this site as well, XP/Vista and Firefox 2. I click Cancel and click the link to the thread again and it works.

Also does it when I log in. I click redirect and I get the message, cancel, click the redirect link again and it lets me in.
__________________
Sony Alpha a57 | RODE VideoMic | Adobe Premiere CS5
Manfrotto 785b | Manfrotto 718b
Russ Holland is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The DV Info Network > DV Info Net Announcements

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:09 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network