DVD Architect Fuzz at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > DVD Authoring


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 8th, 2007, 06:37 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 254
DVD Architect Fuzz

I just finished a DVD and I am not using any motion menus, they're all still images, but for some reason, the text looks like crap. Jagged edges and all. However, it looks at at its worst on my Panasonic HDTV. I don't know why, but on my smaller SD TV, it looks A LOT better, not perfect, butnear.

Now, I understand that it's a HDTV, but other DVD's look a lot cleaner than mine. Any idea why this might be?
__________________
-Roger Rosales
www.rogerrosales.com
Roger Rosales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2007, 10:23 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Depends on a couple of things. First try to stay away from real fine fonts IE most script or cursive text is a finer line and frankly most look pretty bad on TV. Second make sure Reduce Intelace is ON in the project settings - that may help some. the main thing though is the font itself. Like I said there are a few cursive fonts that look ok but most don't.

Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2007, 09:06 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 254
Hey Don,

Yeah, I used a fine font. I turned the reduce interlace flicker to on and I made the menu progressive and it made a HUGE difference.

Looks so much better now. Thanks for the reply Don.

One weird problem I encountered was the shadow on the color set. I tried to remove the shadow 'cause it looks crummy, but for some reason, even after the change, the shadows were STILL there. I got fed up and just left them. Bah, I'll figure it out eventually.

Thanks again Don.
__________________
-Roger Rosales
www.rogerrosales.com
Roger Rosales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2007, 10:13 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Sometimes I've found that even after I press the button to turn the shadow off SOMETIMES I have to actuallt close out the project and reopen it in DVDA for it to take. Goofy but whadda I know?
Glad the other thing worked out.

Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2007, 01:12 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 254
That is goofy. What's even goofier is that on the preview dvd, it wont even SHOW the shadow, even before I take it off...which it still never does anyway. I wonder if they fixed all this with the new version. I'm using 3.0
__________________
-Roger Rosales
www.rogerrosales.com
Roger Rosales is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > DVD Authoring

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:40 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network