DVD-9 Replication at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > DVD Authoring


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 12th, 2003, 05:01 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 1,034
DVD-9 Replication

Has anyone here ever gotten a DVD-9 replicated? I am having terrible trouble finding a program that will take a large DVD compilation (VIDEO_TS directory) and put it on two DLTs as required by the replicators. Maestro is supposed to work, but it won't accept my DLT drive. DVDIt Pro works for <4.7 GB disks, but that doesn't help me for dual layer.

Any ideas? Thx!
Peter Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2003, 04:52 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Try talking to your replication facility. They might know software
that works good for DLT authoring. Keep in mind that using DLT
is only done in the professional world so you will need professional
applications like Scenarist etc. to be able to make a DLT (as you've
already found out).

I must say it strikes me as odd that they only accept DLT. I've
heard that most companies now-a-days also accept DVD-R's
as source (two for a DVD-9 production) [which don't have to be
burned as a DVD-VIDEO but can be just DVD-data] or a harddisk.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2003, 10:49 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 1,034
Even if they accept DVD-R, the problem is, once again, separating the layers properly. You can't just split up the contents of the VIDEO_TS folder arbitrarily; the software must set a layer break point. This can be done with Maestro, but only at the disk image creation phase. I will need very expensive software to get this onto the DLT properly.

As for why they only accept DLTs, it is clear that the replicator machines accept them or sometimes DVD-R Authoring, but not DVD-R general, and getting material from DVD-R to DLT is a big pain in the ass (as I'm seeing).

If I can't get Maestro to work with my DLT, it'll be DVD-10 creation for me, which I can do, thanks to DVDIt Pro.
Peter Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2003, 10:58 AM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Are you sure you need to set a layer break point? Can't you just
create the structure on a harddisk (with ~ 9 GB of a VIDEO_TS
map) and simply put the first half of the VOB's + IFO's on a DVD
data disc and the other half on another? They can then make
an actual disc IMAGE on their end.....

Otherwise I don't have any more tips for you. Sorry.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2003, 12:12 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 1,034
Nope, someone has to set layer break points, and it needs to be done with care to the movie. You don't want to set a breakpoint in the middle of a scene, because it's noticeable.

I can do what you suggest if they then have the software to take the image and set the breakpoint. But Maestro, for example, needs the Layout file in order to set the breakpoint (it cannot simply set them from VOB and IFO files). If they're using Maestro, then it would be no problem, but I don't know what they're using, and everyone so far has said it either costs a huge amount of money for them to do the transfer, or that it can't be done at all.
Peter Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2003, 08:41 AM   #6
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Just contact the facility where you are going to do this. They
surely must have had these kind of questions a zillion times.....
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2003, 04:37 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 1,034
Wow, turns out they have Maestro, and as long as I give them the .LAY file, they can do it for $95 (which is cheaper than the cost of the DLTs and SCSI adapter and everything else I'd need).
Peter Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2003, 04:51 AM   #8
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
See, told ya <g>

Glad you got it resolved!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > DVD Authoring

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:00 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network