URGENT: DVD duplication at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > DVD Authoring


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 18th, 2008, 11:44 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 558
URGENT: DVD duplication

Hello All,
I am currently duplicating 3 discs for a client.

Here is my setup:
Nero StartSmart 6.3.1.11
Intel Core 2 Duo
3GB Ram
320 GB Hard Drive
PC
Samsung 20x SATA
Windows XP 64-bit


Here is my problem:
I just made 100 copies of disc one using Memorex DVD-R with no problem. When I try copying disc two, it sais the image is burned successfully, but then when I try to make copies to blank discs, it gives me errors such as "command sequence error" and "could not perform starttrack." "Burn process failed." I have tried burning at 4x 6x and 8x.

Is there something I can do different? I am working on a deadline.

Help and direction greatly appreciated.

-JS
John Stakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2008, 03:22 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 2,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Stakes View Post
"Burn process failed."
I have had this error message several times, but it has only been caused by faulty discs.
Not sure about the other error messages you mentioned.

Were these discs from the same package as those you used the first round? If not, maybe those you got for disc 2 were faulty?

Maybe try to reinstall Nero and see if this helps you?
Trond Saetre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2008, 04:19 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,551
A while back I had similar errors, ended up that the dvd burner had worn out. I replaced it, problem solved.
Pete Cofrancesco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2008, 05:46 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 558
yes all the first batch for disc one was the same. Then for disc two I opened up a new batch. Same brand same model.

as far as the burner, I purchased it about two months ago. I have run less than 200 discs through it, over the period of a couple weeks. I will try a new batch...if that doesn't work, I will purchase a new burner tomorrow and try that.

thanks for the responses so far...keep em coming please!!


EDIT: there seems to be nothing wrong with the burner itself, I decided to skip the DVDs for now and I am duplicating CDs. Everything is going smoothly. Also a note about the DVD issue. I looked at the information on it, and it is 1 session, but 5 tracks. I don't know if this is necessary info, but thought I would include it.
John Stakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2008, 07:25 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,551
Then the drive is probably ok, could be something about that disc. What exactly is on it? If its software or a commercial movie they sometimes can be written in such a way that it can't be copied. If its just video you could re-encode or ask the client to make another copy for you.
Pete Cofrancesco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2008, 09:43 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 1,400
Ok, after working for a few years in software support, I have to ask: Did you reboot the computer?

A reboot will fix a multitude of problems.
Chris Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2008, 10:01 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 558
Hello Pete,
this is just simple video. I asked the client for another copy and unfortunately this is the only one they had. How would I go about re-encoding? Won't that diminish the quality?


Hello Chris,
I am going to try the reboot as soon as I finish this round of CDs.
John Stakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2008, 10:47 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Stakes View Post
Hello Pete,
this is just simple video. I asked the client for another copy and unfortunately this is the only one they had. How would I go about re-encoding? Won't that diminish the quality?
mpeg streamclip
Squared 5 - MPEG Streamclip video converter for Mac and Windows

you can extract various formats the least destructive would be demux to m2v
Pete Cofrancesco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2008, 11:54 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 558
Thankyou for the link. When I return to the studio, this is my to do list:

1) Restart the machine
2) Try a different batch of DVDs
3) Try a different burner
4) Attempt re-encode of information

Thankyou all so far for the great responses...

Also if it would help if I posted the error log, I can do that.
John Stakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2008, 02:58 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 558
1) failed
2) failed

additional info:
used read buffer goes from 29%, to 28%, to 0%...then stutters once, then "burn process failed."

previous error log attached.



UPDATE: Got one of the DVDs to work. Thankyou Pete! I used the mentioned software and converted the video to a .mpg, and then brought it into Encore and created a new Master. So that takes care of that.

But there is one last disc that I need to duplicate, and Streamclip won't recognize it, which leads me even more towards believing something is wrong with the disc itself. When attempting to burn, it tells me the image was created successfully, but then as soon as it tries to burn, "burn process failed."

I am truly grateful for the help everyone, if anyone has a suggestion for this last disc, let me know. Otherwise, I am going to take it to someone perhaps more knowledgeable in the field and see if they can restore this disc, or at least handle the duplication.

-JS
Attached Files
File Type: txt Log.txt (19.3 KB, 276 views)

Last edited by John Stakes; August 19th, 2008 at 08:04 PM.
John Stakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2008, 10:37 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 558
Hello all, it seems my thread has lost its' spark! Anyhow....

Final update:

All the discs were successfully duplicated! For the final disc, I took it to the studio (the larger one) and burned it on my apple (i was going to say mac, but apple sounds funnier!). There was a particular process I followed that I got from research, and it took 30 minutes to an hour to complete, but in the end, I had a fresh image of the disc! I took this and made a new master copy, bingo!

Thanks again to everyone for this help. One more happy client!

-JS
John Stakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2008, 10:04 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,551
glad to hear you found a way. there are always these weird glitches that usually happen when dealing with someone else's stuff thats out of your normal work flow.
Pete Cofrancesco is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > DVD Authoring

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:28 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network