DVDA various topics - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > DVD Authoring


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 28th, 2007, 01:17 PM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 211
Menu lose quality in DVDA

Hi all,

I've just created a a dvd in DVDA and when I watch it through a media player (Kplayer, VLC, Nero showtime) the menu lose a lot of quality about 5 seconds in. You know in a program when you can choose between high or medium quality and you can instantly see the differences if you toggle between these options, well that's pretty much what it looks like.

I created the background of the menu in After effects and it is a 15 second sequence where nothing moves.

I have two chapters and I animate them for 10 seconds then loop. These two don't lose quality though. It is only the background.

The background is an uncompressed avi.

I tried to turn off the interlace flicker option to no vail.

Any suggestions.

Thanks
Phil Gosselin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2007, 02:00 PM   #17
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 211
Well it looks like I got my answer.

I took my uncompressed avi file and dropped it in Vegas, I then rendered it to an mpeg2 file and that did the trick.

After recreating the dvd the playback doesn't lose it's quality anymore.

Cheers
Phil Gosselin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2008, 07:20 PM   #18
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 22
Sound out of synch when importing into DVDA

I recently got DVDA 4.5, and here's my process is making a DVD:

1 - render as an mpeg 2 widescreen 24p DVDA

2 - render an ac3 sound file from the project (same name)

3 - Import/make DVD - until here all is perfect.

The beginning of the film is in sync but after a while the whole thing gets out of sync by 2 - 3 seconds. Any idea what I am doing wrong?

Thanks!
Guile Branco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2008, 07:35 PM   #19
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
I have experienced this with DVDA 2 and 3 every now and then. Actually 2 times since early version 2. You probably aren't doing anything wrong it seems to be just something that happens once in a while. I have never found a plausible explaination or fix OTHER than re-rendering the project. On the 2 iccassions I have done this the problem was solved.
I know it a PITA but I know of no good reason for this to happen nor do I know of any other way to fix it.
Good luck,
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2009, 07:27 PM   #20
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 277
Incorrect Ratio (16:9) Mystery! Sony DVDA and Vegas

PREFACE: I am not a stranger to the software, so I think it is something else. I have not made any "simple" or basic mistakes...I hope.

I am using Sony DVD Architect to make a widescreen 24p ntsc DVD out of a Sony Vegas project. The problem is, when I play the DVD, it is slightly vertically stretched. Not a lot, just a bit. I have played it on a widescreen computer, widescreen TV through a DVD player, and widescreen TV through an Xbox 360. Each time, when played at "native" rez and aspect, it is slightly vertically stretched. I can FORCE it to fit and then it's fine, but at native settinjgs, it is never right.

1) I made sure all the clips are 720 x 480.
2) I made sure the project setting is 720 x 480.
3) I rendered out using the DVD Architect presets for DVDA Widescreen 24p mpg-2.
4) I made sure the DVD Architect project matched the 720 x 480 settings.
5) I render....
6) Native aspect is never right. It is never actually 720 x 480. Or maybe it IS 720 x 480 and my TV or computer monitor is not. I don't know.

I don't know, but it's killing me. I need to master this DVD very soon.

P.S. I have made DVDs before this way and have not had a problem until now.

DJ
DJ Kinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2009, 08:51 PM   #21
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 277
Update

I seem to be having some luck with my initial experiments with "Square Pixel" 1.0 ratio.

Don't know if this helps.
DJ Kinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2009, 03:48 AM   #22
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Newberg, Oregon
Posts: 440
Are you sure your monitor isn't by chance 16:10?

Some widescreen monitors are.
Jeremiah Rickert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2009, 07:52 PM   #23
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 277
I've seen it on an hd tv, a laptop widescreen monitor, and simulated it on a standard monitor. All the same. :-(
DJ Kinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2009, 10:17 PM   #24
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 277
I want to close this thread and move it to "Vegas" ... I am getting to responses and very few views.

I am not double posting, I just want to close this.
DJ Kinney is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > DVD Authoring

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:04 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network