VHS is better than DVD - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > DVD Authoring


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 14th, 2004, 06:20 AM   #16
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Justin, see my post above. iDVD is an amateur product and as such is not going to deliver the quality you want. Upgrading to iDVD 4 will probably not be a big enough improvement in quality to meet your expectations.

In FCP you should be choosing Export. How are you getting your file out of FCP?
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2004, 08:45 AM   #17
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London
Posts: 189
I am going to 'Export' and have tried both Quicktime and Final Cut Movie. Both give unsatisfactory results.

Even if iDVD is an amateur product (less features etc) - you should still be able to burn a DVD without it completely ruining the footage. Surely that is just the BASIC function of it - without that the product is a non-product - completely useless.

Or maybe the problem is Final Cut Express. If that is the case then Apple should not even be selling it - it should be withdrawn - what is the point of it if at the end of the day the DVD quality is crap.
Justin Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2004, 02:22 PM   #18
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Carlsbad CA
Posts: 1,132
justin, one problem here is that you don't know the bitrates that your mpeg2 is being encoded at.

so talking about software settings is a waste of time, if you can't quantify the end result.

i can't help you because you are on a mac, but surely there must be an easy way to look at the file you just encoded, and see what the frame rate, bitrate, frame size, etc., is.
Dan Euritt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2004, 02:45 PM   #19
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
The issue is not Express. It uses the same encoder as FCP and I can assure that FCP produces great quality output. iDVD is given away free with new computers. It's free! You can not adjust the bit rate. My son who is ten, why wife who is 42 (gonna get in trouble for that one) and my father who is 83 all use iDVD and are happy with the results. However, their expectations are lower than yours. I rarely use iDVD because I see artifacts from the encoding in some of my scenes.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2004, 05:45 PM   #20
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 346
When you do an export there is an options button on the save dialog box, but you must first select export movie to Quicktime movie. Then, when you click options you will have more options. :-) You will have the ability to set three things: Video settings, Audio settings and I believe the third has to do with Internet. For the Video settings click the first button I think, it adjusts the codec. A new screen will allow you to choose the codec, use uncompressed. Another thing to check is the size. Click that button and make sure it is set to full DV size (if you use current settings you might get something weird). For Audio, make sure it is uncompressed audio. For Internet... you can just ignore. Those settings are for if you want to stream your QT movie. Check the size of your final output. A DV QT movie is 1GB per five minutes so 2 minutes would still be 400 MB or so and uncompressed would be even larger. THEN you can be sure by opening the movie in QT and doing get info to see the codec used. Sorry if this isn't exactly right, at work I use PCs and don't have access to a full version of QT.
Mark Sloan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2004, 03:30 AM   #21
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London
Posts: 189
Thanks to everyone that has helped me try to get to the root of this problem.

I have now managed to resolve the problem with the Quicktime version (but not the Final Cut Movie version) - the results seem adequate.

A bad workmen always blames his tools - as they say. I was just missing an option hidden away where 'miilions of colours' could be selected rather than 'thousands of colours'. I only found out by clicking get info on the exported file from within QT and saw that it said 'thousands'. Simple really - doh!!!

Thanks very much again to everyone for helping me out with this.

PS I think I'm going to upgrade to DVDSP for future projects. Cheers!
Justin Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2004, 02:10 AM   #22
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Norwich Norfolk UK
Posts: 112
Another thing worth checking is your leads. Are they all plugged in correctly. We had the same problem when we first set-up our DVD system. We use a 28 inch widescreen as a monitor and had one of the scarts going the wrong way. It occured that the problem was more serious, so we overlooked it 'till the end. Wish we'd done it first.
__________________
David Phillips
David Phillips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2004, 01:00 PM   #23
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca USA
Posts: 542
What is a scart?
Alessandro Machi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2004, 01:30 PM   #24
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
It is a standardized European audio/video connector that replaces our RCA connectors.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2004, 01:37 PM   #25
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca USA
Posts: 542
huh?

Is it passive?

Do you have a picture?
Alessandro Machi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2004, 01:48 PM   #26
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Best picture I could find, try entering a search in Google.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2004, 05:14 PM   #27
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
A better picture of the SCART connector

Scart carries both video and audio. It normally carries composite
but can just as well carry s-video. It also is two way. So with one
cable you send video and audio to and from a device.

If I remember correctly it can also do RGB. It is much used here
in Europe.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > DVD Authoring

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:16 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network