DvD's at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > DVD Authoring


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 25th, 2005, 12:53 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: York, North Yorkshire, England.
Posts: 466
DvD's

I have come here to rack you brains

I have a customer who wants a dvd that he can play in Japan, (Iam in Pal land) I burn alot dvd's but this is the first time i have had a request for this, I have a duplication centre near and they want 200 to convert it to NTSC but he did say that i should be able to do this in my editing program!

I use Pinnacle Liquid version 6, i had a quick look but could not work it out, any help would be very welcome.
__________________
Ian Thomas.
Thomas Video Productions
Ian Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2005, 02:29 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 1,241
I have not tried this at home... Create a new sequence and specify that it is NTSC when you do. Copy and Paste your other timeline and see if that works. I have not idea what the results will be though. But it should be something quick to try.
George Ellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2005, 07:08 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13
haven't seen anything further in your thread so maybe you got
things to do what you want. another option might be to look into
virtualdub. it's a small, free app that can do a lot in the way of
conversions and manipulations.
George Lockwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2005, 03:24 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: York, North Yorkshire, England.
Posts: 466
DvD'S

No i have not sorted it yet, I did what George Ellis posted and playback va the computer moniter was very choppy and of course it would not play back through my tv moniter, and also no audio.

There are lots of things out there that you can buy to do this sort of thing, but under standing the jargon takes some doing, and this project is possibly only a one off so i don't want to invest a small fortune.

But thanks for you replays, and if there is a easy way iam all eyes
__________________
Ian Thomas.
Thomas Video Productions
Ian Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2005, 12:53 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Carlsbad CA
Posts: 1,132
the problem is going to be getting decent quality out of it... it's really difficult to transcode video standards like that.

i use procoder to go from ntsc avi directly to pal mpeg2 for dvd, no pal avi intermediate step... i use the same dolby digital .ac3 audio clip for both dvd's.

you can't frameserve out of l.e., so you'd have to export the entire pal avi off of the timeline, then encode that with procoder.

if you think that there will be a future ntsc market for your products, you should take a hard look at procoder.
Dan Euritt is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > DVD Authoring

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:39 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network