Adobe Encore -- various topics - Page 6 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > DVD Authoring


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 7th, 2005, 10:27 PM   #76
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 95
Adobe encore dvd request time error

Every time I try to burn on dvd with encore it gives mea dvd request time error. Its like its haveing trouble transcoding.
Nathan Petersen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2005, 01:54 AM   #77
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 115
What type of file?
Is it already encoded MPEG-2 out of Premier, or are you having Encore do it?
__________________
We learn by doing, we learn better by making mistakes!
Devin Eskew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2005, 03:51 PM   #78
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 95
No I saved it as a raw avi out of premiere. So encore is transcoding it to MPEG2. It saves quality that way.
Nathan Petersen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2005, 06:34 PM   #79
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: None
Posts: 20
When the DVD starts at some chapter down the disc a little, is that on the stand alone? This happens to me to sometimes also. Does anyone know why this happens. I also build a DVD folder and then burn it with nero.
Patrick Courtnage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2005, 11:29 PM   #80
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 169
It seems to be only on my WinDVD 6 that it does this. Standalone starts with the correct menu. Weird. I'll chalk it up to software stupidity and move on. :)
Jacob Ehrichs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2005, 12:43 PM   #81
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 23
Dodgy Adobe Encore Transcode settings

ARGH!!

Finally finished my first wedding project. It's taken some considerable time but i'm finally happy with it.
The problem is I left Adobe Encore Transcode settings to "Automatic" on the understanding that it would then compress all the footage etc to just the right size to fit on DVD. After a good few hours of transcoding, it now says "Contents too large to fit on media"!!!

Does that mean the automatic settings just don't work!?
Whats the best way to solve this?
Do i now have to go about reverting to original files and then transcoding them all over again? Should i trust the automatic files to give it another go or set my own settings?

ARGH! I want it to be finished!
Peter Wallington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2005, 01:06 PM   #82
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
How long is your project?
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2005, 01:08 PM   #83
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 23
Full movie of about 70 mins. Highlight reel of about 10 mins. Vid clip for motion menu of about 1.5 mins
Peter Wallington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2005, 07:22 PM   #84
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
Well, that should work. Eighty minutes shouldn't be to long. Click on the "Disk" tab and check if you have any DVD-ROM content that could be putting you over the limit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Wallington
ARGH! I want it to be finished!
Believe me, I know the feeling!
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2005, 03:06 PM   #85
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 6
Can I do this in Encore?

I have an idea for a DVD menu to be made in Adobe Encore, but I'm not sure if the program can do it. The thing i want to do is, I have a strange-looking photoshop-made figure with a DV tape for a head on the left side of the screen, with a VX1000 in his hand. I want the menu to be animated so that when you have the cursor on a certain button, the camera in his hand will move to be "filming" the button you have selected. Is this do-able within Adobe Encore?

-Thanks,
JK
Jason Kunz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2005, 01:05 AM   #86
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
There are two ways you could approach this, one simple, and one complex. The simple method would be to use a series of menus, one for when each button is selected. You would have the buttons set so that when the viewer moves to each button it is auto activated to go to the appropriate menu, which would show the camera pointing at the selected button.

Of course with this method the camera would jump to pointing at the button, as it is a still menu; there would not be a smooth, animated tilt of the camera from one button to the next one. Creating such animated tilts would be a complex process, and I donít know of a way to accomplish this in Encore DVD. I donít know if any DVD authoring software under a $1000 can accomplish such a task (DVDLab ($100-$200) might be able to). Even with higher end software, while it may be feasible to accomplish such transitions seamlessly for navigating a series of buttons on a set-top DVD player where the viewer has to follow the buttons sequentially in one direction or another, I'm not sure it would work for viewing on a computer where the viewer can randomly jump from one menu button to any other menu button.
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2005, 09:53 AM   #87
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
After putting some more thought into it, I think you could accomplish animated tilts of the camera from one button to another in Encore DVD.

You would have a somewhat similar setup to the simple method I described in my earlier post, but instead of still menus you would have to use motion menus. You would end up having to create more menus, however, as the animation would have to be different depending on which button the viewer is coming from.

Here is how you would set it up. Lets say you have a main menu with four buttons (A, B, C, and D). When the menu loads A is selected. From here viewers would have three possible button choices (B, C, and D). Thus, you would have to prepare three animations of the camera pointing from A button to each of the other buttons. You would duplicate your main menu three times and add the three animations as a video background, one to each menu. In the original menu, you would link the B, C, and D buttons each to the motion menu that would show the camera animated to the respective button.

You would then have to repeat the process you just did for the "A" button for each of the additional buttons. As you can see, you would quickly have quite a lot of menus (for this example you would end up with thirteen total for the main menu), and have a number of animations you would have to set up and render (twelve for this example).
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2005, 08:50 AM   #88
Tourist
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 4
Adobe Encore woes.

Question1: Is it possible to put several video- or audioclips in one timeline?

I've made multiple animated written documents and want to add chapters so people will be able to leaf through the pages. I also want music to heard all the while this timeline is playing, but dont seem to be able to put more than one clip at a time in the timeline.

Is there anyway of fixing this that doesnt involve me having to render all of it into a giant file?

Question2: I've made an intromovie with music(added in encore), and want the music to continue into the first menuscreen. Is there an easy way to do this?

Any help will be deeply appreciated,

Eirik
Eirik Stefansen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2005, 11:38 AM   #89
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eirik Stefansen
Question1: Is it possible to put several video- or audioclips in one timeline?
No, there is no way to do this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eirik Stefansen
Question2: I've made an intromovie with music(added in encore), and want the music to continue into the first menuscreen. Is there an easy way to do this?
Check out the section titled "Controlling menu display time and looping" in the Encore DVD 1.5 program help file or User Guide (it is on page 109 in the Encore DVD 1.5 User Guide). In the Encore DVD 1.0 help file see "Understanding menu display time and looping" (page 126 in the User Guide). What you need to do is set your intro movie and music as background video/audio for your first menu, and then set the point that you want your menu buttons to appear/become active (called the menu Loop Point, as the menu will loop back to that point once the end of the menu video/audio background is reached).
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2005, 01:10 PM   #90
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hilliard, Ohio
Posts: 1,193
In the help menu, look for "Playlist". It's a way to string assets together. I think you still have to create seperate timelines for each clip but using playlists, you can string multiple timelines together.

Imagine this, you are doing a DVD of a rock band. You have 5 songs with interviews between them. Using Playlist functions, you can create a button to play a playlist with everything, 1 song, one interview, one song, etc. You can also create another playlist that plays only the interviews. You can create another one that plays only the music. Without playlist functions, you need to make several full versions to do this. A version of the full video, rendered and taking up DVD space for the full version, a full rendered version for the interviews and yet a third rendered version for the music only.

Playlists save tons of space giving more flexability.

Hope that helps.

Sean McHenry
__________________
ĎI donít know what Iím doing, and Iím shooting on D.V.í
- my hero - David Lynch

http://www.DeepBlueEdit.com
Sean McHenry is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > DVD Authoring

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:04 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network