My first DVD+R DL at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > DVD Authoring


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 21st, 2011, 01:48 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 769
My first DVD+R DL

Hey everybody....

I'm using Encore CS4 to author my DVD with an .ISO image approximately 8.gigs..
Is anybody using ImgBurn, and is anybody changing the book type, or do you let the software run its' course?
Peter Manojlovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2011, 03:12 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NYC Metro area
Posts: 579
Re: My first DVD+R DL

I recently burned 1 project to DL+R @ 5.7GB and am working on another that will be a 2-disk set, 1 on DL at around 7 GB, and 1 on SL at around 4 GB...using CS2 to .iso.
Both are small run jobs, i.e. 1 at 150 copies, the unfinished one to be 50 copies.

Burned first directly from Encore CS2; contained intro and 1 menu w/8 chapters, and navigation worked fine. Will also use CS2 for the soon-to-be-completed one, with multi-menus and more than 100 chapters. Copies being burned on a copier from Discmakers.

There's no mention of either "booktype" or "book" in CS2, not even in Help, so can't help there...sorry.
__________________
Denis
------------
Our actions are based on our own experience and knowledge. Thus, no one is ever totally right, nor totally wrong. We simply act from what we "know" to be true, based on that experience and knowledge. Beyond that, we pose questions to others.
Denis Danatzko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2011, 03:14 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 769
Re: My first DVD+R DL

I was successful, in that my old player (very fussy), allowed for playback...

But i'm a bit confused, since Encore decides where the layer break should be, why does ImgBurn asks for another one??
Peter Manojlovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2011, 03:33 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NYC Metro area
Posts: 579
Re: My first DVD+R DL

Interesting...Encore CS2 offers the option for either automatic or manual layer break.(In CS2, that's available from the "Build DVD" choice).

As for ImgBurn asking/offering layer break again, I'm not positive but my hunch is that it might use a different scheme than Encore when converting the source to DVD-format.
__________________
Denis
------------
Our actions are based on our own experience and knowledge. Thus, no one is ever totally right, nor totally wrong. We simply act from what we "know" to be true, based on that experience and knowledge. Beyond that, we pose questions to others.
Denis Danatzko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2011, 03:58 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NYC Metro area
Posts: 579
Re: My first DVD+R DL

Pete,
A word of caution when burning to DL:

I learned a bit about blank media from doing the job that required 150 copies. As best I can describe it, it seems each blank DVD (whether SL or DL) includes one or more codes that is/can be read by a burner. If the burner doesn't "recognize" those codes, it may either go on its' merry way and continue burning...or seem like it's burning...or it may stop at any point along the way and issue some message indicating that the media is bad, or failed to copy. Even if it finishes and no error message appears, it's wise to still be suspect of the results. Make sure to check that your finished project is playable in as many different players as you have available. (My new-at-the-time copier was issuing messages that discs had been burned correctly and had passed verification, but some were still unplayable in my test player; I ended up having to test each and every one of 150 discs in my test player...lots of time spent that I had hoped would be unnecessary...and I'm still not positive they will play in EVERY player they might be intended for).

My experience was buying 150 DL blanks, then burning each. Of the first 100 blanks, I got 33 coasters...an absolutely unacceptable error rate. Luckily, I had just bought the copier and the blanks from the same company, so I contacted them explaining the problem.

They had me check a few settings in my copier, and sent me 100 blanks of a different brand of DL media.
The settings didn't help make the original media any more productive, but when the replacement blanks arrived, my error rate dropped to about 2 per hundred. (Unfortunately, while the first 100 replacement media was free, they are more expensive than hoped for. Now I know how much more I'll have to pay in the future for similar jobs.

Bottom line: DL is/can be finicky. Don't assume that lack of an error message during burn means that your disc is playable. Such is the cost of duplicating instead of replicating.

Good luck and best regards.
__________________
Denis
------------
Our actions are based on our own experience and knowledge. Thus, no one is ever totally right, nor totally wrong. We simply act from what we "know" to be true, based on that experience and knowledge. Beyond that, we pose questions to others.
Denis Danatzko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2011, 02:31 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 2,109
Re: My first DVD+R DL

I have done DVD DL several times. Use Encore to export to DVD folder. Then use ImgBurn. It will prompt you to select the layer break. Go with what the software suggest as you need to have similar amount of data on both layers. During playback, there is a split of a second pause during layer break however, it's not noticeable at all.
__________________
LA Color Pros Blog
RODE Authorized Reseller . Comer LED Camera Lights . TakyBox HTML5 Menu Generator
Taky Cheung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2011, 11:51 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 769
Re: My first DVD+R DL

Yes, thank you Taky...I've done it before reading your post, and it worked like a charm..

Question though...
Going this route, would it even matter within Encore, whether you use a setting for single, or dual layer DVD?
IMGBurn helps you choose the best break point anyways, so why have Encore "decide" what's best??
Peter Manojlovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2011, 12:08 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 2,109
Re: My first DVD+R DL

Encore can also burn your DL disk so when you specified the type, it will also determine the layer break point for you. However, IMO Encore is flaky enough I only let it do the authoring to DVD folder. Then off load the burning job to ImgBurn. I did the same for BluRay too.
__________________
LA Color Pros Blog
RODE Authorized Reseller . Comer LED Camera Lights . TakyBox HTML5 Menu Generator
Taky Cheung is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > DVD Authoring

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:45 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network