DVD studio Pro 3 crashing! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > DVD Authoring


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 11th, 2006, 07:03 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 237
DVD studio Pro 3 crashing!

ok so i've done a project on DvDSP 3 and it keeps crashing! i think it's due to the number of tracks i have going.. approx 12 tracks.. it seems to work fine on the 1 track but when it hits the 12 track menu it crashes... i'd REALLY appreciate any help anyone could offer? pretty please with a canon XlH1 on top!
__________________
2ndshooter.blogspot.com
Vishal Gurung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2006, 07:28 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vishal Gurung
ok so i've done a project on DvDSP 3 and it keeps crashing! i think it's due to the number of tracks i have going.. approx 12 tracks.. it seems to work fine on the 1 track but when it hits the 12 track menu it crashes... i'd REALLY appreciate any help anyone could offer? pretty please with a canon XlH1 on top!
I had a similar problem with DVDSP3. Kept crashing. Crash after crash after crash. And I was getting pissed off. I troubleshooted for days.

As a last resort I pulled the 2 sticks of KINGSTON brand RAM out of my G5 and whada ya know. My crash happy DVDSP3 became a totally reliable program.

G5s no likey non Apple RAM.
Craig Terott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2006, 07:30 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Terott
I had a similar problem with DVDSP3. Kept crashing. Crash after crash after crash. And I was getting pissed off. I troubleshooted for days.

As a last resort I pulled the 2 sticks of KINGSTON brand RAM out of my G5 and whada ya know. My crash happy DVDSP3 became a totally reliable program.

G5s no likey non Apple RAM.

Egads! i certainly hope i won't have to resort to that.. It works fine when it's a single or double track project but it seems when it's multiple track, the darn thing just won't even Build! .. driving me yonkers i swear!!

Anyone else have a suggestion?
__________________
2ndshooter.blogspot.com

Last edited by Vishal Gurung; May 11th, 2006 at 08:14 PM.
Vishal Gurung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2006, 11:56 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 237
Desperately seeking suggestions- hopefully someone here can think of something? thanks in advance! :)
__________________
2ndshooter.blogspot.com
Vishal Gurung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2006, 12:33 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 33
How much RAM do you have in your system? What else do you have running at the same time? Are you pulling anything over the network?

-Sam
__________________
If you have Firefox or Safari and Flash you can see my stuff at SamuraiFilms
Sam Sutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2006, 03:50 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Sutch
How much RAM do you have in your system? What else do you have running at the same time? Are you pulling anything over the network?

-Sam
Have 1.5 gigs of ram- Didn't have anything else running @ the same time as i quit/restarted and tried it just by itself.. and no, nothing over the network
__________________
2ndshooter.blogspot.com
Vishal Gurung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2006, 04:10 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vishal Gurung
Have 1.5 gigs of ram- Didn't have anything else running @ the same time as i quit/restarted and tried it just by itself.. and no, nothing over the network

ok gonna try another tact.. anyone in vancouver that i could contact whereby i could just come over with my files and help me build the dvd? :) i'll uh, buy ya some starbux!!
__________________
2ndshooter.blogspot.com
Vishal Gurung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2006, 08:23 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vishal Gurung
Have 1.5 gigs of ram- Didn't have anything else running @ the same time as i quit/restarted and tried it just by itself.. and no, nothing over the network
1.5 gig of what RAM?
Craig Terott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2006, 08:47 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Terott
1.5 gig of what RAM?
samsung if you're referring to the brand.. and i've never had trouble with them before at all..
__________________
2ndshooter.blogspot.com
Vishal Gurung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2006, 09:54 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vishal Gurung
samsung if you're referring to the brand.. and i've never had trouble with them before at all..
I was defensive about the aftermarket RAM I put in my G5 too. I spent a lot of money on it and I potentially just wasted money. So I thought to myself ..aaahhh ...it HAS to be something else ...it must be software related ...it's got to be something else ...my other programs seem to run ok ...just DVDSP3 is crashing.

I started to fall behind on projects -trying to troubleshoot software to no avail. And in a fit of rage I yanked out that aftermarket RAM, BOOTED UP, AND THAT FAST - LIFE BEGAN ALL OVER AGAIN FOR MY G5. PROBLEM SOLVED.

Look bro... you never even said you had a G5, you never even said you had non-apple RAM until I brought it up... How did I guess those things? You only said DVDSP3 was crashing. The same problem I had... with a G5 and non-Apple RAM. Dude... G5's don't like non-apple RAM.

It don't take much to pull out some RAM and test. If it isn't the solution you can always plug it back in.
Craig Terott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2006, 11:00 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Terott
I was defensive about the aftermarket RAM I put in my G5 too. I spent a lot of money on it and I potentially just wasted money. So I thought to myself ..aaahhh ...it HAS to be something else ...it must be software related ...it's got to be something else ...my other programs seem to run ok ...just DVDSP3 is crashing.

I started to fall behind on projects -trying to troubleshoot software to no avail. And in a fit of rage I yanked out that aftermarket RAM, BOOTED UP, AND THAT FAST - LIFE BEGAN ALL OVER AGAIN FOR MY G5. PROBLEM SOLVED.

Look bro... you never even said you had a G5, you never even said you had non-apple RAM until I brought it up... How did I guess those things? You only said DVDSP3 was crashing. The same problem I had... with a G5 and non-Apple RAM. Dude... G5's don't like non-apple RAM.

It don't take much to pull out some RAM and test. If it isn't the solution you can always plug it back in.

*nods* naw i hear ya, i wasn't being defensive, just seemed a bit odd to me how other programs were perfectly fine and DVDSP3 was buggin out on me.. didn't mean to come off as defensive or anything.. either way i'll give it a shot tonight and i'll report back here as to what happened. (think part of me doesn't wanna think about having to invest all that coin in apple ram hehe)
__________________
2ndshooter.blogspot.com
Vishal Gurung is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > DVD Authoring

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:38 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network