DVD Studio Pro questions? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > DVD Authoring


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 13th, 2006, 02:12 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Almelo
Posts: 177
DVD Studio Pro questions?

Hey everybody,

- When I export my project to DVD Studio Pro and put it on dvd, I see vertical stripes in the footage when I play it on the DVD player. Anybody knows how to make the footage more smooth? Is it a compression thing maybe?

- How can I make a still image of the menu in DVD Studio Pro, because I'd like to use it on the DVD cover?

I hope someone can help me with these questions. Thanks in advance!

Niels
Niels Neeskens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2006, 10:56 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greeley, CO
Posts: 63
Hello,

The first problem could be a number of issues. For example, it could be interlaced artifacts from your source footage if it was shot in 480i, 1080i. In that case, you have to de-interlace your project and then compress it. If you deliver to DVD a lot, you may want to consider shooting progressive video. De-interlacing doesn't always produce the best results. Secondly, if you're using a template in DVDSP, you might try to use a screen capture utility to get a picture. Also, you can always export a frame from FCP or use Adobe Photoshop to create menus that can be repurposed for album art. Adobe Illustrator is also a great program for producing album artwork for your project.

I hope that helps,
Cale Rogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 17th, 2006, 03:50 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Almelo
Posts: 177
Thank you Cale it helped a lot!

Cheers mate
Niels
Niels Neeskens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2006, 11:33 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Almelo
Posts: 177
How do you de-interlace a project? I can't find a way to do that?

Niels
Niels Neeskens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2006, 03:12 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greeley, CO
Posts: 63
There are a couple of ways to attempt de-interlace. In FCP make a new sequence and change the "Field Dominance" setting to "none." The drag your finished sequence into the new sequence you made. Then apply the de-interlace filter from the effects tab to the clip in the sequence. Render or compress that out to see if it works. Remember to use a progressive compression setting (checking off settings that interpret interlaced fields). The results will vary and you may need to try a better de-interlace filter from a third party such as Nattress. But, that workflow can get you started.

Good luck,
Cale Rogers is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > DVD Authoring

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:00 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network