Recording directly to PC / HD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > External Recording Various Topics


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 30th, 2005, 10:15 AM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SD
Posts: 4
Recording directly to PC / HD

I know this must have been answered many times, but here goes again...

I would like to be ableto record directly to a laptop (or desk top)
hard drive. What would be the hardware requirements: RAm and HD specs to do this well. Not min. reqs.

Along this line I want to invest in an external HD, I realize firewire is a must, but what about other "speed" search specs. What buffer size is acceptable and which is preferred?

Thanks so much for your replies or for directing me to on point posts as I try to get up to speed.

My goal is create a mobile studio, with a hope of adding multiple cameras to the mix sometime.

Thanks

Terry
T. Nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2005, 11:37 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 185
Recent link

How about this?
David Yuen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2005, 01:01 AM   #3
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SD
Posts: 4
Thanks David. I'm very interested in any like minded tales of creativity.

Did he ever do a follow up post?
T. Nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2005, 01:06 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 185
Not yet

It's a very recent thread, so if he has not posted there, he has not posted any where. You should subscribe to the thread so that you'll be notified of any updates.
David Yuen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2005, 11:32 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wytheville, VA USA
Posts: 64
I finally got around to posting instructions. They're customized for the Fujitsu Stylistic 3400 I have but the basic idea is the same regarless of the laptop or tablet.
David Suthers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2005, 09:06 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Independence MO.
Posts: 318
"I realize firewire is a must"

I am using USB2 for my external hard drive and have no problems.

I use firewire with my camera and capture with DVRack.

Danny Fye
__________________
www.dannyfye.com
Danny Fye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2005, 12:45 AM   #7
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SD
Posts: 4
Thanks Danny.

What kind of hardware do you need to really run that set up. CPU speed, memeory Hard drive capacity, not jus the min req. by the software?

Terry
T. Nicholas is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > External Recording Various Topics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:59 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network