MXProDV to PC via FW at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > External Recording Various Topics


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 21st, 2006, 08:32 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hudson, NH
Posts: 3
MXProDV to PC via FW

Hi, new here, but been using a GL-2 firewire to my PC to record Church services for the past year. Post edit with Vegas and and output with DVD Architect. So far, no problems, no frame drops.

Now, I want to add cam#2, and other sources, mix live, and output from the MXProDV's firewire port into the PC instead. I thought this would work, and Vegas Capture would see the incoming feed as no different than it sees the camera today. But I cannot seem to get it to work. Vegas, and other capture utilities, do not recognize the mixer.

Is this possible to do? I do not spend much time editing, and plan to eventually go direct to a DVD deck, but not ready yet.

thanks
Bob
NH
Bob Langlois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2006, 06:23 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Royal Palm Beach, FL, US
Posts: 228
Not sure about the MXProDV but my guess would be that it simply spits out a DV signal but doesnt allow DV control.

In this case you can disable DV control and simply capture the feed without controlling the 'deck'

I had this problem when i was using my JVC DV/VHS deck trying to capture from VHS using pass through over firewire. At first i couldnt get it to work until i disabled DV control in vegas capture. Then the life feed showed up in capture and i could capture the feed
__________________
Michael Salzlechner
Michael Salzlechner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2006, 07:03 PM   #3
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hudson, NH
Posts: 3
Michael, thanks I will try that tonight.

Bob
Bob Langlois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2006, 09:12 PM   #4
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hudson, NH
Posts: 3
Michael, that doesn't seem to work. I did get a repsonse from Videonics that basically says this should NOT work:

Hi Bob,
the MXProDV was designed some years ago and as such, it has an older firewire chipset. New PCs tend not to care about anything older, so they don't typically work well with the Firewire output. However, most video studio equipment will work fine with the MXProDV's output (you may have noticed this already). For newer PCs you might be better off going analog out of MXProDV and using a converter to get a DV signal to the PC.

The newer model MX-4DV mixer works fine with most new PCs because its firewire chipset is newer.

Thanks,
Jim

But, if anyone is doing this, please let me know how.

thanks

Bob
Bob Langlois is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > External Recording Various Topics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:37 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network