Final Cut Metadata Problem? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Pro X

Final Cut Pro X
The latest version of FCP from Apple.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 4th, 2011, 10:51 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 81
Final Cut Metadata Problem?

I've got a problem. FCPX is working ok for me, but it's metadata is just as large as the video files I'm working with. I'm currently working on a wedding video with about 150 gb of data. The metadata files are around 250 gb!!

In the pictures attached, the red with a yellow box is how much video I have in final cut. (~150gb) The purple with the yellow box is how much metadata I have in my final cut pro x document folders. (~250 gb)

What do I do??
Ryan ONeil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2011, 10:54 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 81
Re: Final Cut Metadata Problem?

Here are the pictures.
Attached Thumbnails
Final Cut Metadata Problem?-screen-shot-2011-10-04-10.07.27-am.png   Final Cut Metadata Problem?-screen-shot-2011-10-04-10.07.13-am.png  

Ryan ONeil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2011, 07:52 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mount Rainier, MD
Posts: 428
Re: Final Cut Metadata Problem?

It probably recompressed your footage to ProRes. I think that is a default setting that can be changed.
Brett Sherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2011, 04:19 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 81
Re: Final Cut Metadata Problem?

ProRes is a codec though correct? Would that answer why I have all these extra files that aren't movie files?
Ryan ONeil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2011, 03:14 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 444
Re: Final Cut Metadata Problem?

SORRY, THIS REPLY WAS FOR FCP, NOT FCPX


The documents could be autosaves. Projects themselves can get quite large, and if you have the autosave limit set high, the time between autosaves short, and lots of different projects, autosaves can rack up quickly. Alternatively could be render files, but re der files should return as quicktime documents I would have thought.

Check the autosave vault folder for size and your render scratch folder for size.
__________________
www.afterglow.co.nz
Craig Parkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2011, 09:32 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 346
Re: Final Cut Metadata Problem?

I don't recall the app you're using for the visual display there, but maybe it's showing you the total amount for your system and not just that folder you're looking at? Surely you don't have 634.7MB of Mail messages in your project.

I'd like to see the names of those folders and if you're looking at the Projects or Events folder.

Is this FCP7 and not FCPX? Doesn't look like X's file structure at all.
__________________
David Chapman
www.davechapfilms.com
David Chapman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Pro X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:14 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network