Canon 60D - Edit in H264 or ProRes? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Pro X

Final Cut Pro X
The latest version of FCP from Apple.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 25th, 2015, 08:37 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Medellin, Colombia
Posts: 199
Canon 60D - Edit in H264 or ProRes?

Hello,

I have been taught that it is better to convert my H264 footage (Canon 60D) to ProRes 422 before editing (or at importing), but I just did a test, editing in both formats (H264 and ProRes422), with color correcting, but the footage showed less pixelation in the H264 footage than in ProRes, both at previewing in FCPX and after exporting (to ProRes).

Is it really better to edit in ProRes when working with native H264 files or do I actually loose quality by converting another step?
Urban Skargren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2015, 10:29 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chicago, Illinois USA
Posts: 660
Re: Canon 60D - Edit in H264 or ProRes?

With the older versions of FC, I think that it was necessary to transcode h.264 to pro res just so the NLE wouldn't choke.

From what I understand, and how I've been working lately is you no longer need to convert h.264 or create optimized within FCPX. It just works. One of the many things to like about this editor.

I'm sure there will other comments in case I missed something.

Jonathan
Jonathan Levin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2015, 02:27 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Re: Canon 60D - Edit in H264 or ProRes?

Don't bother. Canon files are slightly unusual depending on the camera they were recorded in but as long as you can work with them now, conversion to ProRes is a waste of space.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2015, 07:31 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Medellin, Colombia
Posts: 199
Re: Canon 60D - Edit in H264 or ProRes?

Thanks a lot!
Urban Skargren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2015, 11:12 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg Canada
Posts: 532
Re: Canon 60D - Edit in H264 or ProRes?

I thought that the benefits of a prores 10 bit 422 color space was that it handles color correction and transitions a little better? Although FCPX is a little confusing, as it is not evident if you are using the original media or the optimized in the timeline... I think it uses prores every time you render anyway, no?
Brian David Melnyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2015, 01:14 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Re: Canon 60D - Edit in H264 or ProRes?

By default, everything that requires rendering is done in ProRes so you reap all the benefits of converting without the loss of drive space. Converting everything to ProRes has it's benefits but for general single track timeline editing you don't need to convert to ProRes.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Pro X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:45 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network