How to open compound clip in timeline at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Pro X

Final Cut Pro X
The latest version of FCP from Apple.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 12th, 2015, 01:04 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Medellin, Colombia
Posts: 206
How to open compound clip in timeline

Hello,

I created a compound clip and then closed down the program, then opened the program again and now I am trying to open the compound clip. It doesn't appear among the timelines any more (with the arrows). It does appear in the browser as a compound clip, and I can right-click and choose "Open in timeline" but when I do that, it opens as the clip broken apart. I need to edit the compound clip as such to apply global effects.
How in the world do I open the clip in the timeline?
Urban Skargren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2015, 05:42 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,645
Re: How to open compound clip in timeline

Unless something is very wrong with your project all you need to do is double click the compound clip to see the contents in it's own timeline. Or right click on the compound clip and choose "open in timeline" in the menu. If the compound clip is not in the master project then somehow it was deleted.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Producer/Edit/Camera/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2015, 06:51 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Medellin, Colombia
Posts: 206
Re: How to open compound clip in timeline

Double-clicking or choosing "Open in timeline", several of my compound clips open their content in the timeline, and do not appear as compound clips. I guess I am missing something. I want to see the clip as one big clip in the timeline to apply global effects.
Urban Skargren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2015, 02:44 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,645
Re: How to open compound clip in timeline

Just apply the effect to the compound clip in your primary timeline. No need to open it.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Producer/Edit/Camera/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2015, 02:58 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Medellin, Colombia
Posts: 206
Re: How to open compound clip in timeline

That's the thing, it doesn't open in the timeline.
Urban Skargren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2015, 05:27 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 198
Re: How to open compound clip in timeline

Well, you just have to create a new project (new timeline) and put your compound clip on it, then apply the effect.
__________________
http://www.songesdemoai.com/
Ronan Fournier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2015, 07:39 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Medellin, Colombia
Posts: 206
Re: How to open compound clip in timeline

That helped! Thanks a lot!
Urban Skargren is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Adorama
(800) 223-2500
New York, NY

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Texas Media Systems
(512) 440-1400
Austin, TX

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

VideoGuys
(800) 323-2325
Mineola, NY

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Pro X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:28 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2018 The Digital Video Information Network