can fcpx and fcp7 reside on the same hard drive? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Pro X

Final Cut Pro X
The latest version of FCP from Apple.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 6th, 2015, 07:21 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: new york city, new york
Posts: 574
can fcpx and fcp7 reside on the same hard drive?

i am FINALLY getting to fcpx!

as a long-time fcp7 user, i have the software on several machines (mac pro-27" i7 imac-15"mbp).

i want to load fcpx on the i7 imac.

can the applications fcp7 and fcpx reside as different applications on the same i7 imac hard drive?

(i am talking only of the application. i am not talking about different fcp7 and fcpx projects sharing space on the same external hard drive)

i will still have some legacy projects that will need fcp7.

how do i handle needing both fcp7 and fcpx?

thanks in advance to those in the know!

be well.

rob
smalltalk productions/nyc
Rob Katz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2015, 07:44 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Gloucs, UK
Posts: 201
Re: can fcpx and fcp7 reside on the same hard drive?

They can but.....

FCPX needs Yosemite or El Capitan, you may well find problems running FCP7 with either of those OS. A better solution would be to Partition your drive - 1 for FCP7 and another for FCPX.
__________________
http://www.foxvideo.co.uk
Dave Farrants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2015, 08:22 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,555
Re: can fcpx and fcp7 reside on the same hard drive?

I have both on the same partition they work fine. With a few caveats:

Compressor 3.5 won't work newer version available
Motion 3 won't work newer version available
LiveType won't work
DVDStudioPro works.
Soundtrack pro works but gives error messages
Pete Cofrancesco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2015, 08:35 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: new york city, new york
Posts: 574
Re: can fcpx and fcp7 reside on the same hard drive?

pete-

will the "new version" of the other applications within fcp7 studio work with legacy fcp7 projects?

and how do you now use soundtrackpro? (or don't you use it now?)

thanks in advance.

be well.

rob
smalltalk productions/nyc
Rob Katz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2015, 10:45 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: new york city, new york
Posts: 574
Re: can fcpx and fcp7 reside on the same hard drive?

this apple article says "no" they rather not exist on the same hard drive.

is this article outdated?

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202240

thanks

rob
smalltalk productions/nyc
Rob Katz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2015, 03:33 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,555
Re: can fcpx and fcp7 reside on the same hard drive?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Katz View Post
pete-

will the "new version" of the other applications within fcp7 studio work with legacy fcp7 projects?

and how do you now use soundtrackpro? (or don't you use it now?)
full disclosure I'm using FCP 6 but 7 isn't much different. I also bought a new hard drive installed the new os and both versions of fcp. If i had an issue i could swap the system drive. I haven't needed to.

I only use Soundtrack pro as a stand alone app for basic edits with files I've recorded with my digital audio recorder such as trimming or adjusting levels. I get an error when flattening but still works. I don't send edits from fcp soundtrack pro.

To export I save it as ProRes reference then open that in compressor 4 for encoding.

Last edited by Pete Cofrancesco; November 6th, 2015 at 05:31 PM.
Pete Cofrancesco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2015, 05:08 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,076
Re: can fcpx and fcp7 reside on the same hard drive?

I was running FCP6 and FCP X together with minimal problems.

First of this year I decided I was done with using a video editor that hadn't been updated in 7 years. FCP X is not my cup of tea. I got Premiere and LOVE it. Still have FCP 6 for legacy projects and FCP X for the occasion when it's useful.

Seriously. Premiere. Love it.
Mike Watson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2015, 11:50 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 2,053
Re: can fcpx and fcp7 reside on the same hard drive?

I run FCP 7 and FCP X on a MacBook Pro, with OS X Yosemite.

I've switched over to FCP X. Took a a little effort to get used to how it works, but I have gotten to like it for the most part. I had a short deadline to put together an 8-minute video that involved 20 interviews. The ability to tag key sound bites helped a lot as it made finding specific clips easy.

Media Manager is more or less gone, but there's a work-around if you use DaVinci Resolve. I color grade with that so it's not a big deal. And the software is free from Blackmagic Designs.
__________________
Dean Sensui
Exec Producer, Hawaii Goes Fishing
Dean Sensui is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Pro X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:50 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network