Pixel burst problem on FCPX at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Pro X

Final Cut Pro X
The latest version of FCP from Apple.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 5th, 2016, 03:11 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Edinburgh Scotland
Posts: 58
Pixel burst problem on FCPX

Does anyone know what could be causing this? Get a burst of pixels on the first frame of a clip on the timeline now and again. It's in the exported file as well. Any ideas?
Attached Thumbnails
Pixel burst problem on FCPX-highlgihts-cuts-1-clip.jpg  
__________________
www.wedding-videos-uk.com
Jon Robertson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2016, 03:29 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,419
Re: Pixel burst problem on FCPX

Jon, what Mac are you using? Mac Pro 2013?
Gary Huff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2016, 03:58 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,128
Re: Pixel burst problem on FCPX

Happens to me from time to time when viewing certain kinds of footage like AVCHD and XAVC. Not sure why.
__________________
Nate Haustein PXW-FS5 / C100mkII / iMac i7 / FCPX
www.flightcreativemedia.com
Nate Haustein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2016, 05:00 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Edinburgh Scotland
Posts: 58
Re: Pixel burst problem on FCPX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Huff View Post
Jon, what Mac are you using? Mac Pro 2013?
Late 2013 iMac sir. I'm currently looking at a clean install of OS as it's overdue and see if that cures things. It just seems to happen quite randomly so there must be something buggy in the system.
__________________
www.wedding-videos-uk.com
Jon Robertson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2016, 05:02 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Edinburgh Scotland
Posts: 58
Re: Pixel burst problem on FCPX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate Haustein View Post
Happens to me from time to time when viewing certain kinds of footage like AVCHD and XAVC. Not sure why.
Yeah it's XAVC footage. Serious pain.
__________________
www.wedding-videos-uk.com
Jon Robertson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2016, 12:11 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 479
Re: Pixel burst problem on FCPX

I've seen this at times editing 4:2:2 10 bit XAVC-L clips natively in FCPX. It seems to happen more often when I've applied a transition or something and tried to play it before it renders. It's like the drive can't read the source fast enough and it corrupts one frame of the clip. And, I have the current fastest iMac with 4GB GPU with a RAID 0 as media drive.

I've never seen it in source footage though, and can usually fix it by just replacing the clip in the timeline with the source clip.
David Dixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2016, 01:01 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,531
Re: Pixel burst problem on FCPX

Is this the first frame of the source clip or the first frame of the trim on your timeline? Is it consistent with the same clips every time or does it crop up randomly every time you export? Usually blocks like this are from an compression decoding error, as if the key frame isn't there or isn't being read.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2016, 03:35 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Edinburgh Scotland
Posts: 58
Re: Pixel burst problem on FCPX

It does seem to crop up on the first frame of the same clip. Do you reckon transcoding to pro res might help things along? Will give it a shot I reckon.
__________________
www.wedding-videos-uk.com
Jon Robertson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2016, 04:12 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,531
Re: Pixel burst problem on FCPX

None of my camera footage has ever had this problem but I have received files that do the same error on the very first frame of the clip. I wish I could tell you what camera those files were from. I also received footage from a camera that was clearly malfunctioning and the files had random blocky patches from an encoding error.

If you trim two frames in, does the error go away?

ProRes might help.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2016, 04:30 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Edinburgh Scotland
Posts: 58
Re: Pixel burst problem on FCPX

Encoded the XAVC to pro res and all was well. Just something about the native footage that was causing a problem. It is possible to trim the frame out and it's OK but I'd rather take the hit on storage space and not waste time messing around with frames in the edit.
__________________
www.wedding-videos-uk.com
Jon Robertson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

EVS
(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Pro X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:00 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network