(FCP)Small canvas frame size with 4:3 29.97 video? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 10th, 2007, 05:21 PM   #1
New Boot
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 12
(FCP)Small canvas frame size with 4:3 29.97 video?

I am going back to re-edit an anniversary ceremony from 2 years ago, and the files are in standard DV NTSC, 4:3, 29.97. The sequence and capture settings match this. When I drag the clips into the viewer, they play full size and unzoomed. When I bring them down to edit in the timeline, they require render, and take up about a quarter of the Canvas window, almost like a video thumbnail sized postage stamp. I have been editing 16:9 HDV recently, but the settings for this project match the original file attributes. What am I doing wrong here? I thought I was past the days when I had to render Standard def DV!
Kevin Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2007, 09:18 PM   #2
Major Player
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Hollywood, CA, United States
Posts: 744
Make the timeline window is active, then push the Command and 0 (zero) keys. This will bring up the sequence settings for the active sequence. Make sure that all the settings are the way they should be.
Originally Posted by Kevin Harrington View Post
I have been editing 16:9 HDV recently...
All sequences you create will be defined by your Easy Setup, so if it is set to HDV and you are trying to edit SD, then you will have the problem you describe.
Edward Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2007, 10:09 AM   #3
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,467
Welcome to DVinfo Kevin! When the settings get messed up I always like to start with a clean slate. Close all projects which are open, go to Easy Setup under the FCP menu and choose DV-NTSC from the dropdown list (assuming that's what you want).

Now start a new project. That will ensure that all new sequences, clips and captures have the correct matching settings. See if that fixes your problem. But note this won't affect any existing sequences or clips, just new ones which you create. If you need to fix an existing sequence then Edward has explained what to do there.
Boyd Ostroff is online now   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:47 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network