hdv-mini dv transfer questions at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 17th, 2007, 07:30 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: dublin
Posts: 9
hdv-mini dv transfer questions

Hi,
I'm using finalcut pro 5 to edit a project(50i codec dv-pal)but now i want to import some footage I shot on jvc hdv 25p. Can I down convert the hdv footage live into finalcut? or if not do I have to transfer the hdv footage to mini dv via 2 cameras and a firewire? what will work best?
Thanks

Last edited by Mick Doyle; August 17th, 2007 at 03:45 PM.
Mick Doyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2007, 11:47 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
You can easily downconvert HDV from within FCP.

There are two ways to do it.
1. You can either downconvert all or some of your source HDV using the media manager (takes a long time and lots of hard drive space)

2. You can simply insert your HDV footage into a DV timeline. FCP will automatically scale your HDV footage down to fit in the DV timeline, maintaining the aspect ratio (16x9 letterbox if a 4x3 timeline, or full 16x9 if a DV anamorphic 16x9 timeline.) FCP5 requires rendering, FCP6 does not (if you have the horsepower.)
You will get the best results if the frame rates match. 25P and 50i are both 25fps so you will have no problems there.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2007, 03:43 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: dublin
Posts: 9
ok thanks tim will try that.
Mick Doyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2007, 05:59 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Dashwood View Post
2. You can simply insert your HDV footage into a DV timeline. FCP will automatically scale your HDV footage down to fit in the DV timeline
You know, this is an interesting topic for me Tim. I always shoot HDV on my Z1 but almost always use the camera to downconvert so I can capture as 16:9 DV. However awhile ago I wanted to edit a little personal project in full HDV. When I was done I dropped the sequence into a 16:9 DV timeline and rendered it. It looked terrible! I tried messing around with things like field order, dropping individual clips into a DV sequence and various other things but they were all equally bad. I finally exported with Quicktime conversion (which took about 5 hours for a 1 hour sequence on a dual G5/2.5 IIRC) and that looked OK but probably not as good as having the camera downconvert. I didn't have the patience to experiment any further.

I was using FCP5. I know that earlier versions of FCP did a really poor job of scaling images so I figured this was still the case in version 5. Maybe the JVC 1280x720 gives better results with this technique than Sony's 1440x1080? Based on what I've read around here I guess Compressor does a better job. If I can ever figure out how that program works maybe I'll give it a try ;-)
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2007, 06:51 PM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boyd Ostroff View Post
You know, this is an interesting topic for me Tim. I always shoot HDV on my Z1 but almost always use the camera to downconvert so I can capture as 16:9 DV. However awhile ago I wanted to edit a little personal project in full HDV. When I was done I dropped the sequence into a 16:9 DV timeline and rendered it. It looked terrible! I tried messing around with things like field order, dropping individual clips into a DV sequence and various other things but they were all equally bad. I finally exported with Quicktime conversion (which took about 5 hours for a 1 hour sequence on a dual G5/2.5 IIRC) and that looked OK but probably not as good as having the camera downconvert. I didn't have the patience to experiment any further.

I was using FCP5. I know that earlier versions of FCP did a really poor job of scaling images so I figured this was still the case in version 5. Maybe the JVC 1280x720 gives better results with this technique than Sony's 1440x1080? Based on what I've read around here I guess Compressor does a better job. If I can ever figure out how that program works maybe I'll give it a try ;-)
Yes... well scaling interlace is never easy. I'm sometimes provided 1080i transport streams for insertion into a NTSC timeline. I usually end up applying the de-interlace filter before pasting the clip or sequence into the NTSC timeline. I have fewer interlace issues when using any codec (like the Blackmagic presets) other than DV.
The big problem with field order is that DV codecs use lower field (even) first and almost everything else, including 1080i HDV uses upper field first.
I downconvert 720P all the time as part of my normal workflow and it always works flawlessly because you don't have to worry about field order.

With the new FCP6 a lot of these issues go away because you can truly mix different sources in real-time.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:42 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network